We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm-to-table food without fuss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russet

Russet
1521 Spruce St, Philadelphia, PA 19102
215-546-1521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Russet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #436 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 15th and 16th
Washington, DC metro area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Farm-to-table food without fuss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a good and simple brunch at Russet. There was a good range of choices on the menu. Food was excellent, presentation was good, and service was friendly and efficient. Being able to make an OpenTable reservation at the last minute was helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Farm to Table Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Because it is a farm to table restaurant the menu changes frequently. We just relocated near here and where we lived we had several Farmer's Markets that have won awards. There were always several chefs there buying for their restaurants so I expect fresh products. I was not disappointed. It was so good I'd like to go back for every menu change. There were 4 of us and we all had a great meal. The staff was attentive and very helpful with questions about the menu. For an appetizer I had hand rolled pici with broccoli, garlic confit and pecorino ginepro. I found out that pici was pasta that was between spaghetti and buccatelli. It was delicious and the pasta was better than that from Italian restaurants. The others had ravioli, pappardelle and tuna tartare. All were great and so were the desserts. This is a BYOB restaurant which I really liked.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty, possibly over-priced and convenient to Kimmel Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is one of Philadelphia's "BYO" restaurants that is chef-owned and emphasizes locally raised ingredients. Two of us dined recently and enjoyed our meal, with friendly and competent service and well-crafted and creative, but not superb, food. On any given night the menu will change depending on the availability of ingredients. Ours was dominated by fall vegetables, mushrooms, and local seafood and meat. I stuck to "firsts" and was happy with my choice. Papparadelle with chanterelles was a bit over-dosed with its "foie gras butter" (mainly butter) but nonetheless delicious. Sfomato of yellow squash was tender and flavorful. Perfect for a pre-concert dinner; the staff is efficient and minds the clock once they know your needed departure time.

Portions are not large which is fine by me. I would rather clean my plate and feel satisfied than leave mounds and feel stuffed. Two courses and dessert came to about $80 and of course BYO means wine was not included.

You will need reservations! It's tiny.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

BYO - Farm-to-table. One of the best restaurants I've eaten in - in the world! Bringing your own bottle makes this a very affordable and memorable restaurant. Near Rittenhouse Square. Small dining room, so call for a reservation (or use OpenTable).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, iffy for vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a new restaurant within a block of the Kimmel Center. Its emphasis is on local food. Given this it was surprising that there was only one option for vegetarians, though that was delicious. The menu was short, but for carnivores looked great. Imaginative use of local food, and the preparation was excellent. The prices are quite high and the portions are small, so that we vegetarians left hungry. The service was good but not quite as accommodating as it could have been.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russet also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Russet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.