We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and unique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
MILANO
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Charming and unique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is located in the quiet and historic area of ​​the city, very close to the departure of the BIG BUS city tour.It 'very bright, furnished with great attention to details, design hotel with some particularities a bit eccentric but always fascinating.Excellent amenities in the room ,,absolutely comfortable king bed,and a large bathroom with fine toiletries.I also joined their free loyalty program, so I had free internet wifi in the room.Overall ,the best thing of the hotel is the reception staff ,very friendly and helpful.In particular way I have to thank Brian Brazina, who, with his kindness, made ​​my stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: I had a King room with a view on the Independence Hall, very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I cannot disagree, as much as I love our great location and amazing amenities, the staff is what makes our hotel PERFECT! Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your story. Brian is one of a kind, and I will make sure to pass along your kind words.

Safe Travels,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    275
    69
    24
    10
See reviews for
330
556
53
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is unique in its decor and its convenience. It's rare that the photos on a hotel website look true to life. This place actually looks like what they advertise. The staff is super friendly! We are in town for the Bears/Eagles football game. The time was moved back from 1pm to 8:30 and they gave us complimentary late check out at 8pm for the inconvenience. I couldn't sign in to the rewards program to get online to print my tickets and they printed them for us right at the front desk.
The hotel is literally walking distance from every single main attraction. Free wifi if you join their rewards program. Complimentary wine social at 5pm.
Fabulous! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
You know it’s true, when you're not the only one who says it. Our staff and location are unmatched! Thanks for agreeing with me.

Come back anytime - football season or other!

Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stay here. No question. It is very clean, quiet, everything updated, and the employees are helpful, vibrant and happy. They made me happier. It's in a good location, too for eating, walking and sightseeing. I stay in hotels many times a year, mostly on the West coast of the US, and cleanliness matters a lot to me. This hotel was very well kept -- as though people take pride in their work. I will definitely stay in this hotel the next time I am in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review! Our staff takes pride in everything they do and their passion for exceeding expectations shows in everything they do. Thank you for noticing and calling them out on it! Hope to see you back soon.

Best,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The rooms and the interiors are beautiful with avant garde decor. We had a room overlooking the Independence Park. The room service staff were friendly and courteous. The coffee is great. There is a rooftop lounge bar which is also worth visiting. The location is excellent if you are spending a weekend or are in Philly for tourism. Overall a wonderful experience. My recommendation for anyone considering staying in old city Philly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation and for staying with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring Philly and the Monaco!

Best,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband was here on business and I joined him for a week long stay. The hotel is located in the "Old City" so you can walk or get a bus to all the historical places in the old city area. The staff was friendly, yet professional. The room and bed were very comfortable, although I think they need more rods in the bathroom for hanging towels. The attached restaurant "The Red Owl" had excellent food with reasonable prices. We found the old restaurant enchanting. The hotel hosts evening drinks in the "living Room" area nightly. The hotel has a homey cozy feel with it's eclectic decorating style. It also has all the usual expected conveniences of a much larger hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks with a window to the outside. Some rooms overlook the empty courtyard area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I'm so glad that you were able to make the trip with your husband. Not only are we great for business travelers but for their family as well. I hope you had fun in Philadelphia. Kimpton will be seeing you soon in San Antonio!

Safe Travels,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hotel Monaco is a converted early 20th-century office building, and part of the Kimpton chain, which means that its interior decor leans toward the avant-garde. Having said that, however, this is a first-rate hotel: Clean and comfortable, very reasonably priced, with a busy but attendant staff and all the usual amenities required by demanding travelers. Best of all, if you're interested in historic Philadelphia, it is an ideal location: At Fifth and Chestnut, adjacent to Independence Park and the Liberty Ball, within easy walking distance of museums, restaurants, historic houses and churches, and the like. Our room literally overlooked Independence Hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recommendation with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at the Monaco and in Philadelphia.

Best Wishes,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachussetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at this hotel this past weekend and the whole experience was just lovely. We got a great rate on hotels.com and when we checked in they were nice enough to upgrade us to a room with a view. The housekeepers left nice notes and asked if we wanted cookies, the restaurant staff was the most attentive I have ever seen and the front desk people were upbeat and pleasant. We decided to add another night and managed to book a great rate with the front desk. I will definetley plan to stay on my next visit to Philly.

Room Tip: The view of Independence park was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Everything happens for a reason - you found us on hotels.com so that we could make sure you had a wonderful time in Philadelphia. The whole team is looking forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the love!

Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.