We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky design, great attention to detail - lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quirky design, great attention to detail - lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The decor in this hotel is a 'big kid's' paradise - very quirky but also functional. Loved the fitness mat in my room (clean) - never seen that before. Quiet location which is good.
I have to say that the shower strength was very disappointing - kind of spitty - water got on the floor (I was in 823)

The Buddakhan Asian restaurant just down the road (walking distance) was also amazing.

For newbies to Philly who lke shopping - as I was - Philly does not really have all the shops on one road or in one area - can be a trek to find the stores you are looking for. Much easier to go to an our of town mall such as King of Prussia - no tak on clothes and shoes is a big plus.

The Macy's on 13th had really friendly staff and is worth a visit is you can't make it out of town.

There are some really nice places for eating (some al fresco) - had a NY Greenwich /soho feel - great vibes. Visited my first piano bar with was a fun experience.

I was here for a work trip but pleasantly suprised

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that has windows facing into the centre of the hotel - I wasn't in one but...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a recycle bin in my room which was good to see - another first.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for all the great feedback regarding your stay. It sounds like you were able to do a lot around the city and have a great time. Thanks again for sharing - we will definitely look into the shower.

Cheers,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
Jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    243
    62
    18
    8
See reviews for
280
459
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My stay at this hotel occurred in Sept. 2013 for 2 nights. Over the years, I have stayed at other Kimpton properties and have always had good experiences and this was no exception. This hotel is close to the Liberty Bell and in a great location. The room was large, clean and quiet. The bed was so comfortable. I enjoyed the free coffee and newspaper in the morning and the free wine reception in the evening. The gym was nicely equipped and the employees were polite and friendly. No complaints about this place at all. It is a great hotel in the city of Brotherly Love.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Evelyn,

Thank you so much for the raving review of your stay at our hotel. Hope this means you'll be back.

Thanks for the love!
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
Jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

For a tourist this is the best hotel you can find. Location is right across the street from independence park, pricing is extremely reasonable, and most importantly the service is amazing. If your coming to philly this hotel should be first on your list.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for highlighting all that makes the Monaco special! I hope we will always be first on your list.

Thank you,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The wife and I were both off for Monday MLK Day, and decided to take a quick trip down to Philadelphia. The NYC megabus stops at Independence National Park (at Market and 5th) before terminating at 30th Street Station. This was very convenient for us, as we were staying just a short block away at the Hotel Monaco.

The Hotel Monaco is part of the Kimpton chain of boutique hotels. Their loyalty program may be lacking in terms of ability to earn and redeem free nights, but their customer service is superb, particularly for "Inner Circle" members (earned after 15 stays). Even as a basic member (which is free to sign up for), you get free wifi and a $10 "raid the bar credit." We checked in at 12, and our room was not quite ready yet. The front-desk manager was very friendly and assured me that she would call as soon as our "corner suite" was ready. I was so excited! (rumor has it that they regularly upgrade IC members to the best suite in the house.)

In the meantime, we went to Independence Park across the street walk along the mall which was most pleasant in the unseasonably warm January sunshine. We stopped into the National Museum of Jewish History ($12 per person), and went on one of their free docent lead tours at 2:30pm. They had an interesting new exhibit on the 5th floor about Jewish professors who escaped Nazi Germany and pioneered teaching in the segregated south.

In retrospect, we probably should have taken advantage of the great weather and light Sunday traffic by borrowing the Monaco's free bicycles to peddle around the city, particularly because Monday ended up being a lot colder, and most museums (including the National Museum of Jewish History) were open and FREE on MLK Day.

The hotel called just before the 2:30 museum tour to let us know that our room was ready. Waiting for us in the suite was a welcome amenity which included a bottle of Glenfiddich and cupcakes and biscotti from Roz's kosher bakery. Perhaps they had been out for a while, but the baked goods were nothing to write home about, though we did appreciate the gesture and their effort to find kosher goodies for us.

We really enjoyed the views from the room out towards the park, and relaxed while soaking n the oversize free-standing tub situated in the middle of a large walk-in-shower. (I liked being able to overflow the tub entirely without worrying about soaking the entire bathroom as is often the case with hotel tubs.) The large pink tome of Alice in Wonderland was a fun and quirky touch to the room and made for great bed-time stories.

The furnishings and amenities in this property are really top-notch, and the service is excellent. I have returned since this stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I love that its been almost 9 months since your visit and you still remember each minute of it like it was yesterday. My favorite part is that you've been back to stay with us. I hope that our staff has helped create even more memories for you the second time around. Thank you so much for sharing your memories with us.

See you soon!
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
Jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Hotel is really awesome. The people I stayed with thought the decor was weird, but I was just happy it was really new! They got an awesome fitness center with hula-hoops included! Also, right next to all the historical sights like the liberty bell! A+ hotel with many benefits by signing up as a free reward member. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We've been told that our members get the best perks! Next time you're here you'll have to try out our upgrade Raid the Bar program that now includes Red Owl Tavern and Stratus Lounge.

Thanks for the love!
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotemonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a great week in this hotel where the staff went out of their way to make you feel important to them. Nothing was too much trouble and you were greeted as you left or came back to the hotel. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable with plenty of space. All in all a very positive experience

Green Features: Have separate waste bins for recyclable items and towels are changed when you think they need to be not on a daily basis
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sending us a great review of your stay. I'm glad to see you had such a great experience!

Safe Travels,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Come back to the hotel for happy hour and unwind in a welcoming lobby full of interesting and open people. Relax, kick off your shoes and relax.
The rooms provide quirky decorating that will both stimulate and relax you. Decor is wonderful. Attentive staff is just a phone call away. The soap in the rooms are spa like.
Door men at the ready to hail a cab, and check in staff has all the answers for night time activities.
You must see the outside roof top bar!!
Was here on business but will be back for a romantic weekend too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park and on a high floor
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling trash cans, towels and linens changed when asked.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Romantic is our middle name. It’s in between Awesome and Relaxing. Thanks for noticing everything that makes us all three!

Come back soon,

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.