We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“funky hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is bang in the middle of Philli's historic heart opposite the Liberty Bell and the Independence centre.The surrounding area is full of small bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and are all within easy walking distance of The Monaco. The decor is fabulous and so are the staff. The rooms are lovely with very comfortable beds, well equipped and the bathrooms superb although the sliding door was very heavy to move. The Red Owl tavern bar and restaurant within the hotel is excellent and the food very good and loads of it. A nice little touch too is the free tea or coffee each morning from 8-9 and the free wine each afternoon from 5-6 in the Living room which is in front of the main reception area- not so great if you're a beer drinker! Dog friendly place so avoid if you don't like dogs in your hotel.

Room Tip: rather noisy plumbing if you are a light sleeper and we were certainly aware of the A/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
The best part of our location is all that our neighbors have to offer. You are right, there is something for everyone no matter if you're craving a cheese steak, spicy tuna, or croquetas We can find something for everyone.

Thanks for your review!
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    243
    62
    18
    8
See reviews for
283
460
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I would recommend Monaco hotel to anyone- new, clean well decorated, nice and helpful staff,great service. Coffee in a morning till10 a.m. And wine testing at night Quiet with the nice view. definitely will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Irina,

Thanks for sharing the love! I'm going to hold you to your return visit.

Best,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is one of those boutique hotels that got it right. The decor is excellent - quirky but functional. Rooms are very big and we managed to get a Chestnut St view right to Independence Hall. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel other than Room Service but the Stratus rooftop lounge is beautiful. The hotel is pet friendly.

Room Tip: Get an outer room, preferably on 5th or Chestnut though you might hear the bell ringing at night, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Our guest reviews mean more to me that any other type of review, so you saying we got it right is like winning a gold medal! Glad you had a chance to check out Stratus, hopefully next time you’re in town you'll be able to try Red Owl Tavern.

Thanks so much! Come visit soon,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location if you are planning to do the touristy things in Philadelphia. It is right there by Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, and just down the mall from the US Mint. This hotel is just like the other Kimpton Hotels, by which I mean they really go out of their way to make sure have an amazing stay. The staff is exceptionally friendly and receptive. The room was not a very big room, but the hotel is located in an old renovated building. I would highly recommend this hotel to others if they are coming to Philadelphia for the first time and planning to do the standard touristy things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the great PR! Glad to hear you are a Kimpton fan and hopefully one of our InTouch members. Would love to have you back again with us.

Best,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip recently and loved it. Everything about the stay was superb. Such great fun but very luxurious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our event was a great success thanks to the staff.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Very well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review of the hotel. I'm so glad you had a great stay, hopefully next time you'll be able to come enjoy us for pleasure instead of business.

Safe Travels!
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is relatively new, but has certainly shot to the top of the ratings.
From the guys at the door when you arrive, to the staff at the desk, it is one of the most welcoming places I have visited. The staff throughout the hotel could not have been more helpful during my stay.
The hotel has a wonderful appearance throughout and my corner room was spectacular, with views down to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell site. The Red Owl Tavern is well worth a visit at any time of the day and Stratos on the rooftop is certainly the place to be in Phillie at night.
All in all my stay could not be faulted and I would recommend the Monaco to anyone considering a visit to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Certainly go for a corner room. The views are out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I love to see that you were able to enjoy all that the hotel and restaurants have to offer while you were here with us. Sounds like you got to meet a lot of our amazing staff that helped to make your stay memorable.

I hope you will come back to stay again. Thank you so much for sharing!

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON ENGLAND
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having been to a few Kimptons in the past I had not been aware of their In-touch programme, which is really worth joining. Few perks like free Wi-Fi come with joining, but the special touches come when you are upgraded without asking. Check in staff were welcoming efficient and as I said bumped us up. The rooms are charming and quirky, loved the wine tasting hour from 5 to 6 perfect after a long day sight seeing and shopping.
Having decided on our last night that we would dine in the Red Owl Tavern we were disappointed there was a private function on. Suppose we could have used room service but opted to go out.

Room Tip: Park view rooms offer a view of the Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We love taking good care of our loyal members; the InTouch program has lots of perks. However the best part about Kimpton is when we get to surprise and delight our members outside of the normal perks with upgrades and such. Thanks for telling us about your stay. I hope next time you are in town you will get to experience Red Owl Tavern, you will not be disappointed.

Safe Travels - Thank you!
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.