We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip to Phily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay Fit & Be Well
Ranked #2 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Short trip to Phily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Phily to see The Eagles (band) and decided to add some sightseeing. I booked the Monaco as it was right in the heart of the historic district and substantially cheaper than the Omni next door. Dont think cheaper is bad, as the location, amenities and qyuality are al excellent. We deove from NYC early and they easily handled an early check in. (9:30 AM). Room was excellent as was the restaurants (both the Red Owl and the rooftop lounge). As I said the hotel is within walking distance to all of the historic sights. This was really convenient espercislly considering the July heat wave. Also, the concierge (David, I believe) was really excellent. He guided us to a number of attractions and suggested a great spot for dinner (Panarama...see other review). The only negative was that they could not accomodate a late check out, but the did hold our bags and allow us access to the lobby concessions. Overall, a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    192
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
212
364
33
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are in Philadelphia, you should try this hotel. Definitely I will try to be at more Kimpton Hotels. They are professional, welcoming and the hotel provides you with everything you look in a hotel. They really are setting the standards on how a hotel should be. Just caring and understanding what the client needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Mi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from a great weekend in Philadelphia for a family weekend trip. Hotal Monaco was a perfect location for seeing some history and enjoying the Old City. Our room was large, bright and clean. The staff (thanks, Brian) was very helpful with tickets, directions, and restaurant recommendations. We couldn't believe how close we were to the parks and museums. The only reason we didn't give 5 stars was the cleaning staff seemed to have an odd schedule, replacing towels late in the afternoon, and the lack of a good breakfast onsite. We found the Red Owl underwhelming.

Green Features: You need more towel bars so we can reuse towels each day.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Kimpton knows hotels. These guys have it down pat. From easy check-in to water and coffee in the lobby. Perfect location. Good bar with craft beers on tap and fun cocktails. Would stay again and again. Great if you have kids too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel while In Philadelphia on business. Great location for business and tourist along with comfortable rooms and nice restaurant/bar. I will stay at this hotel again the next time I'm in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found this place last minute, by accident actually. Sometimes you DO get lucky. I was very suprised to find such an up to date, clean stylish hotel next to the Liberty bell. Just didn't expect it. I guess I was in the 1776 mind set. It's a very "hip" place though. Clean, quiet, comfortable, all with a central location and pretty reasonable prices. Will stay again if in town. Might even make it a destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now, most recently for a meeting I planned for my company. There aren't enough great things that I could say about my experience here. From beginning to end the Monaco delivers on impeccable service, style, comfort and class. Our group was here for 2 days and everyone from the valets and doormen, most notably T, to the Front Desk staff, Catering, Management, Sales, Housekeeping and even Engineering (yes, we had to deal with Engineering dept briefly) were all amazing! I was always greater with a smile, there was never a time someone walked past me without asking how could they assist me and everyone went above and beyond to deliver the best in class service.

The hotel is situated in a great location, esp if you are coming into town as a visitor, it puts you right in the heart of the historic district. Even if you are local or a native to Philly, it's probably one of the best hotels to have a "stay-cation" or girls night out. The rooms are beautiful, the designs couldn't have been any better thought out. I love the tufted headboards and all the mixing and matching of colors and prints that all flow so well together. For a boutique hotel you get tons of space, it's not like some hotels where you turn around and you're bumping into the wall or furniture because the place is so tiny. It's also a great hotel if you're traveling with families because the room I was staying in was one side of an adjoining room which would be perfect for families traveling together to request both and expand their space.

The Monaco also has a really great rooftop lounge, Stratus. Our company hosted our Opening Reception there the first night and the staff there were also really great. There was a snafu in the beginning but they rebounded very quickly and it led to our entire team having a really great night. The service from everyone there was top notch. The space is really nice, there's nothing like it in Philly. It puts you in the mind of a New York or LA. It's just a cool vibe with excellent custom drinks. My favorite is the Cucumber Gimlet. The Monaco also has an in house restaurant, Red Owl Tavern, that has pretty good food as well.

All-in-all the Monaco is a must stay in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.