We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a great time at the Monaco. We loved the wine hour and the friendly vibe all over the hotel. There were a couple of glitches that I would like to mention, however. I called before we left home and asked if there was free wifi in the business center and was told there was; so I didn't bring my iPad. There wasn't. One of the desk staff was kind enough to offer to refund any charges, so that worked out. The other glitch was that when we came back to the hotel one day at 3pm, our room had not been serviced; so we had to wait in the lobby. The room was very small, and all the bold wallpaper didn't help. The shower had no door, just a piece of glass covering about one-third of the stall. As a result, water went everywhere; we had to use all the towels to mop it up so we could walk on the floor. Despite those problems, we would stay there again--it's a very pleasant atmosphere with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I can't thank you enough for letting us know some of the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay. I'm happy to see that you still had a great stay and will be back. I know next time you will have the true Monaco experience! Thanks for helping keep us on our game.

Cheers,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    244
    62
    18
    8
See reviews for
284
464
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Wow! what an experience!--the staff were exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the room was gorgeous. We mentioned the secret word from Facebook and were floored with the rewards! It is a great experience to stay there! Oh, did I mention the location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with us! You'll be happy to know our passwords are coming back this summer!! Hopefully we'll see you again soon to help celebrate another wonderful occasion.

Safe Travels,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the moment we walked into this hotel, we knew it was going to be amazing. We were not disappointed. From the reception desks, which are fabulous, to the room, this whole hotel is amazing. We did book a one bedroom corner suite as there were 3 of us sharing and so glad we did, the room was so spacious and absolutely gorgeous. Huge bathroom with freestanding tub, the decor was outstanding. I love that feeling of walking into a hotel room and just going 'wow'. We stayed at 7 hotels during our trip and this was the most beautiful in every way. Faultless.

Room Tip: Corner suite overlooking Independence Hall and Liberty bell was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I love our new tag line "Most beautiful hotel in USA" I just hope it fits on my business card! I can't thank you enough for the great review of your stay with us. We really do have beautiful hotel with amazing staff.

Cheers!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thank you for the most wonderful stay at your hotel. The staff, the accomodations, the restaurant..one delightful experience after another. From the moment we arrived, through the checkin process and the gorgeous room that we were assigned, then the food at the Red Owl Tavern...super! The staff was courteous, attentive and all really love their jobs and it showed. The level of service from every department was outstanding. This will be my go to hotel. I cannot wait to visit again...thank you for a truly wonderful experience. Consider yoursellves the "gold standard" in hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hey Terry!

Thanks for your GOLD rating. Nothing makes me love my job more than reading about an amazing guest experience like yours. Come back anytime!!

Thanks!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From now on I won't stay anywhere else in Philadelphia. Has an exceptional stay - beautiful property (you have to like modern, eclectic), fun, well kept, clean, exceptional service, responsive. Only off the charts great things about this hotel. I can't recommend it highly enough and I'm a hard grader. Give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the great press!! See you when you come back to Philly.

Safe Travels,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This brand new neat hotel is across the street from Independence Hall - the prime Old City location. It offers the usual well-designed Kimpton chic in a classy old building. The decor is modern and bold; huge yellow flowers on a dark blue carpet in our room. Electronic pillar candles, lots of nice design touches, Etro toiletries, red lacquer commode, funky bathroom. Shirts cost $7.95 to be laundered. The comfortable Living Room offers complimentary coffee/tea in the mornings and a glass of wine early evenings. The background music there was a bit too loud for easy conversation but the staff happily turned it down when asked. There is a trendy/noisy rooftop bar - with no view of Independence Hall?? The Red Owl tavern's decor is entirely out of keeping with the rest of the hotel and the drinks are expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Camwas,

Thanks for taking the opportunity to share your stay with us. Unfortunately, being a historic building our hands were tied in regards to the building structure, but the atmosphere of the rooftop lounge and being 11 floors up, more than makes up for it. Ave, our Kimpton desginer, really did an amazing job with this hotel.

Cheers,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Another top notch Kimpton property located in the heart of. Independent Square. Great staff. Unique dining. Valet parking. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well stocked. Online last minute rates available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for the love Vito! Come back and visit us soon!

Safe travels,
NIck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.