We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
u.s.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Another top notch Kimpton property located in the heart of. Independent Square. Great staff. Unique dining. Valet parking. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well stocked. Online last minute rates available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for the love Vito! Come back and visit us soon!

Safe travels,
NIck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    312
    75
    29
    11
See reviews for
365
613
62
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Took my 13 year old to Philadelphia for a birthday trip and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. She loved being able to see Independence Hall from our window. I loved the quiet and comfort of our room. Best part of the trip for my daughter was finding a surprise piece of chocolate birthday cake in our room after being out touring (arranged by the concierge unbeknownst to me). The staff was friendly from the front door to the housekeeping staff. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Great views on Park side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi James,

Sounds like you and your daughter had an awesome weekend. Thank you for letting our team be part of the memory!

Best Wishes!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I doubt we'd stay here for $300+ a night, but a Kimpton In Touch deal turned up and was terrific value for money. The decor of the hotel is so over the top you have to either consent or dissociate. I did a bit of both. Our room on the 9th floor was gorgeous: large, sumptuous, lovely bed and appointments, appealing view. We didn't eat at Red Owl Tavern (mixed online reviews) and it's not super easy to eat around here unless you go down to Chestnut and 7th. We ate at four restaurants around there, all good in their own way; best meal goes to Chifa. The Bourse would have been good for food during the day. It's great to be close to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall etc. Staff were cordial, helpful when I locked myself out of my room, nothing was a trouble. There's a really nice feeling to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hey Melissa!

Thanks for the great review. I'll see what I can do about keeping those InTouch specials alive!

Cheers,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Found this hotel by accident through Hotwire. Loved my stay so much, that I booked my latest Philly business trip too. I took my wife and daughter too because I thought they would enjoy this cool hotel. Great experience.

Room Tip: Try their roof top bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
What an awesome accident! Can't wait to hear what your wife and daughter think of the Monaco. Let us know if we can help score you some points!

Thanks for the love!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved this hotel. It's the perfect combination of style, service and affordable price. But what sets it apart from other great phili hotels is the great location. We had a view overlooking Independence Hall that was spectacular.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Kent,

We agree you can't get any better than 5th and Chestnut! Happy to hear that you and your wife had such a great time with us!

Come back soon,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a night in the Hotel Monaco in Philadelphia a couple of days after spending a night in the giant Marriott in the city. The experiences were vasty different. The Marriott was everything a typical that you would expect in a nice huge hotel. The Monaco was pleasing to the senses from the moment you walked in the door. The hotel was hoppin (not always what we are looking for) but the staff was on it, helpful, paid attention to the guest even with all the activity. The room was interesting and so comfortable. I love the different Kimpton property personalities. Our room was fairly quiet. The hotel location lends itself to wandering around and exploring. Great place to stay if you want both service and personality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hey Pam,
I love the way you described the Monaco as pleasing to the senses. In my book, that is one of the most difficult things to achieve, but when done right its the most rewarding to our guests.

Thanks for taking th time to share!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to celebrate my husband's birthday with a day trip to Philly. Our hotel experience was great and the staff were so helpful. Even though we missed wine happy hour, we were given complimentary drink coupons for the bar. We were also able to store our luggage there after checkout for a few hours.

Our room had a wonderful view of the Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell, and I loved the decor. Front door staff made me feel like the hotel itself was pretty secure at night. Because both of us had already seen the historic parts of the town, it was a bit far from where the more popular restaurants seemed to be, so I may stay in the other Kimpton next time around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Happy to see you and your husband had a great time celebrating at the Monaco! We definitely have a great location and great staff! I hope you'll come back to Philly soon, and I know you will be well taken care of at either of our properties!

Best Wishes,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,404 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#2 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,275 reviews
City Center East
Omni Hotel at Independence Park
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.