We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding even without a house dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Outstanding even without a house dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have only positive things to say about this hotel. I arrived during the wine hour and they immediately gave me a glass full. The room was well appointed, bright and cheery with colorful decor. Perfect location for exploring the old part of the city. Staff members were helpful and friendly. Hard to beat the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi norm5Seattle,

Thank you for all the positive comments! That’s exciting to see you had such a wonderful time even without a house dog, we do have lucky however he is just a statue. We will be holding interviews for the Director of Pet Relations and will keep you updated with the final results!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    241
    62
    18
    8
See reviews for
274
445
39
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have come to expect great personal service from the staff at Kimpton Hotels; and the staff at Hotel Monaco delivered. We were warmly greeted at the door on a bitterly cold winters day. Our stay was simply delightful. Hot coffee in the mornings, great wine in the evenings served in the hotel lobby. We had a marvelous in-room breakfast that was delivered hot, and tasted awesome. I want to give special thanks to Rashid with Guest Services, he went out of his way to make us feel very welcomed in the "city of brotherly love". We had a great experience. Thanks Rashid and to all the staff at the Hotel Monaco.

The location of the hotel is perfect; literally right across the street from the Liberty Bell and Independance Hall. The decor is trendy and intriguing; the lobby was nicely done, our room was a little over done and visually busy to my taste. The Beds, however, were very comfortable and more than made up for the bizzare wall paper. I was told that there were different themes in the various rooms.

If you have not experienced Kimpton hospitality, do yourself a favor and stay with them in Philly or their other locations. I wish they would open one in Austin, Texas!

Room Tip: The Park view rooms are they way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you Sailordrew!!

That is fantastic to hear that you had such a great experience with us. I will be sure to give Rashid praise for providing exceptional service. He truly is an asset to the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location right in downtown Philly. You cannot get a better location than this one. It is a complete new hotel, with beautiful funky decor and really well decorated bedrooms. The staff is really friendly and it has a fair price for the area. If you are looking to stay in a non classic fun hotel, this will be it. Although it is a shame that the restaurant doesn't have any vegetarian options really, but other than that I'd totally stay here again. At night they open their rooftop lounge and you can have an amazing view with a delicious cocktail. If you are planning to stay on the Omni (which is also a nice option), try to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Viajerapornegocios,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the City of Brotherly Love! Happy to see you a great time with us! We currently are in the process of preparing to roll out a vegetarian menu, on your next trip you will have to try some of the new delicious items!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

While I don't know the history of he hotel, I did notice that all the art work were of men dressed as women. Weird, but not nearly as strange as the interior decorations - wild wallpaper, furry lamp shades, and a leopard robe.

One thing I didn't find in the room was a bible

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Kwkincer,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. You are correct our style and design is eclectic, fun, and unique, while paying homage to General Lafayette and Steven Girard. I did see your note about the bible, and as an environmental friendly practice we don’t put a bible in every guest room, however, we have every holy scripture available by request.

Happy to see you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can not say enough about this hotel to express how awesome it was. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The location is amazing - we walked everywhere. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We were only there for 3 days and the doormen had already learned our names and asked about our day each time we left and returned. Very upbeat staff as well. You could tell they enjoyed their jobs. Room service was delicious! This place just rocked. All around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks Michelle F!!

Happy to hear you had such an amazing time with us! We are very lucky to have such a gorgeous building in a perfect location, with the best team ever.

I will be sure to share your review with the team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I often stay at Kimpton Hotels on business and decided to try this new hotel. It has a great location on the same block as the Omni right in the Independence Hall area. Fun, eclectic decor and attentive staff, especially the bellmen. Fair price for the area. The rooms are very quiet also. I prefer Center City, but if you are staying in Old City, this is a great choice. Also, unlike other hotels, free Internet (which requires joining the Kimpton In Touch program) is actually a good connection!

Room Tip: Reserve a Park View room to take advantage of the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Kathi M!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your visit. Happy to see that you have a fun time at the Monaco! I will be sure to thank the bell team for being attentive and providing great service.

Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Needed a getaway and some carefree time with friends. Upon our arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Arriving to our room, our dog had a soft bed waiting for his arrival. After getting settled, we went up to the rooftop lounge for a cocktail - beautiful view and tasty drink.
The decor was on point, the bed was comfortable and the room overall was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks Lisbar3!!

Happy to see that we made you and your dog feel welcomed! Hope to welcome you guys back real soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Director of Pet Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.