We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
TO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Almost 5*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Going in we had high expectations for this place. The location is ideal, next to Independence Hall, close to good eats and walkable to most attractions. The decor was bold and creative. We loved it! The service was great. Nasser made our stay extra special. Thank you so much!

However, we had a couple of problems. The bath and sink did not work properly. 

The stay was 4.5*.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Gifu,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the City of Brotherly Love! I very much appreciate all the great comments and happy to hear Nasser made your stay extra special. I am sorry to read about the problems with the sink and shower; I will have our Chief Engineer get right on that.

Next trip in we are striving for the 5!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    275
    69
    24
    10
See reviews for
330
556
53
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Kimpton has renovated a 1907 office building overlooking the liberty bell and independence hall into a fun, quirky hotel. As examples of quirkiness, there are teapot lamps in the elevator lobbies, a wall of paintbrushes behind the front desks (yes, there are two and they are real desks), and wallpaper in the closets with such phrases as "If in doubt, wear red." Typical of all Kimptons we've stayed in, the staff is friendly, the rates very reasonable, and there is a wine hour each day.

However, I gave the Monaco four stars rather than five because our room was not made up until after 5:00PM even though we had left it in the morning with the appropriate sign on the door. And when it was finally made up they forgot to leave hand towels and wash cloths.

We love Kimpton Hotels and stay in them whenever possible. We like the fact that they are renovating old buildings (the Palomar in Philadelphia being another successful renovation and another great hotel), are pet friendly and are trying to make each of their properties unique.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Bic20,

Darn! We missed the 5 star experience...I will be sure to follow up with the Executive Housekeeper so we can get that 5 star experience that you expected!! Sorry about that. Thank you for all the great comments about the hotel and team!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was a treat - lovely reception, stylish room, large comfortable bed, lots of cool little extras, good wifi. Great location very close to the Liberty Bell, historic areas, cinema, and some excellent restaurants, though note if you're in town for more modern entertainment, you might do better to be nearer Rittenhouse Square, a 20ish minute walk from here. But essentially, the hotel is very good.

Only disappointments: (1) they supplied little shampoos etc as you'd expect, but didn't renew them, so by day 2 we'd run out. (2) there was thumping music audible throughout the entire night, possibly from the hotel bar below (I woke at 1, 3, and 5 and heard it every time) which disturbed my sleep. After the first night, I complained, and the reception staff member apologized and said he was mystified and would send someone up to try to fix the problem. I asked if I could move room (room 201) and was told the only other room available was next to the loud rooftop bar which would be worse (10th floor), so we just tolerated it for the second night, which was the same. What annoyed me was that the next day I happened to overhear another couple voicing exactly the same complaint to the same member of staff, who again acted mystified, as though he had no idea this was a problem though clearly he knew as we'd just had the same conversation. Claiming ignorance seems a strange hotel policy for dealing with what is clearly a recurrent problem for a hotel of this calibre. But it's something to be aware of if your room's on the second floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor and 10th floor as music from the hotel bars seems to play throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Ms_Scotsgirl,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Happy to hear that overall your visit was a positive one. I did want to let you know that I appreciate the feedback as it relates to the mystified team member when hearing about the noise as it’s the only way we can become better. I will be sure to follow up with team to prevent this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Best Regards,
Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Va
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I recently attended the Philadelphia Flower Show and decided to stay at the Hotel Monaco. We've stayed at other Kimpton properties and this one did not dissappoint! The hotel is in a great part of town for visiting all the historical sites and not a bad walk to the convention center for the show, or you can catch the bus, which is easy. We were welcomed warmly at the door of the hotel and also at check-in. Super customer service! The hotel is beautiful - LOVED the crystal chandelier that is shaped like a sailing ship with little anchors and seahorses hanging from it - such a lovely foyer. The lobby of the hotel has 2 glass containers with flavored waters - one citrus and one with berries - both were very refreshing. The wine hour was fun - like a party! Such a nice touch that other hotels do not have. A safety feature that I haven't seen at other hotels is the room key - after 10 pm, you must use it in the elevator in order to get to your floor - same card gets you in your room - just wave it in front of the lock. Our room was large, decorated well, and very clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. There were several negatives - but none that would keep me from staying there again, but I'll list them in case someone would be interested:
1. The lighting in the room was very low - I suppose it was "green", but it made reading very difficult.
2. The lock box in the closet is so high that it was difficult to reach. I'm 5'5" and my husband is 5'7" and neither of us were tall enough to see in the box - had to get a rolling chair (not too safe) to stand on when we left to be sure we had gotten everything out of it.
3. The shower is a walk in, which is great - very attractive - but you have to get inside in order to turn on the water, which makes for a very cold jolt before you can jump out of the way - water also gets all over the floor as there is no door to the shower.
As I said, we loved the hotel and hope to stay there again on our next trip to Philadelphia!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of the hotel - very quiet - but we only had one small window so the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear StormNik,

Happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at another Kimpton Hotel! Thank you for all the kind comments about the team and the experience. I am very interested in the concerns you mentioned and will be sure to address accordingly.

Thank you again and hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The service on Check-In was great, and we received a number of great suggestions for dining, etc. The room was beautiful and quiet, the bed comfy, and the mini- bar stocked with great stuff.
We took a peek at the gorgeous rooftop bar and look forward to spending time there on our next visit. There were plenty of staff at the reception desk for the busy Sunday morning check-out, which was impressive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Wendelfarb,

Thank you so much for staying us and for taking the time to write about your stay. I am thrilled to see you had a great experience with us and got to enjoy Stratus!

We can’t wait for you to come back either!!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We tend to like Kimptons and were excited to stay at this new property. From the moment we pulled our car up to the front door, everyone from the parking valet to the front desk attendant to the security at the rooftop bar was wonderful - everyone!

The whole staff seemed engaged in making sure we had a comfortable stay. The parking valet was super welcoming and knew about the parking discount for hybrid vehicles (although we learned at checkout this didn't get communicated to the front desk - however it was easily rectified and included an apology). The front desk made sure we were aware about the Kimpton features. The doormen were always enthusiastic and took great efforts to quickly secure cabs when needed.

Even security went out of their way - on our first night we were meeting friends up on their rooftop bar and upon arriving up there must have looked a bit dismayed at the big crowd. A security staff came up to us to suggest we visit one of the other rooms on the roof, and recommended his "favorite" - we had to walk outside on the roof and would never have known about it had he not pointed it out. We're really glad he suggested it as it was a great little modern library-like room with candles and various seating areas. Since it was so nice and quiet, the four of us decided to splurge and order a nice bottle of champagne. We got great service, with the waitress checking on us from time to time.

Like many Kimptons, this is a renovated old building furnished with Kimpton's own sort of modern/vintage style. We were plenty comfy, with a good bed and enough storage for two people. The bathroom was beautiful with lots of marble, and had a big counter and shelf. Housekeeping kept the room very clean. The only complaint we have is the shower was one of those walk-in setups where there is a partial wall of glass to protect the room from the shower spray. That worked OK if you stood in the right spot, but if you moved to the "wrong spot" in the large shower stall (as I did to have to shave my legs), you ended up causing water to pool on the floor. We see this as a design flaw.

All in all, we will definitely look into booking this hotel again when in Philly and hope that it will maintain its wonderful level of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks Anne C!!!

I am so happy to see you had such a wonderful experience with us. I can honestly say that the team here is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure to work for. They truly get it and are genuine in each and every interaction. I will be sure to share your review with the team so they can see how their hard work pays off!!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chester, pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We live in the Philadelphia area and decided to stay downtown for the night. This hotel is in a great location for tourists who want to visit the historical sites. Our room itself was very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and there were plenty of staff members to answer questions. The rooftop bar has a great atmosphere and would be a good meeting place for a small group. We will definitely look into staying there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Gail_m_k!

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very lucky to have such a beautiful building and even better team!

Thanks again for the great comments.

See you again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Director of Luckiest Hotel Manager in the City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.