We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great new clean hotel. Hip vibe and great design. Service was tremendous and so was the room. Beautiful shower, sitting room and views of the liberty bell from my windows. This has to be the nicest hotel in Philladelphia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Drgmboston,

WOW! The nicest hotel in Philadelphia, Thank you! Happy to see you had a wonderful visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
VP of the Nicest Hotel in Philadelphia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    196
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
219
373
36
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco 11/9-11/10 for a "sister's bonding weekend". The hotel is funky and modern. You can see the attention to detail in every design. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. "T" must stand for The man that does everything. He welcomed us to the hotel, opened doors, took our bags up to the room, explained the lay out of the hotel and directed us downstairs for the wine hour. He is truly an outstanding employee that makes your stay memorable. I will definitely return!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Vanntastic,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. Happy to see you had the chance to meet T and had a great visit. T is rocking and rolling on trip advisor, this is his 3rd mention within the week!

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco over the Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel exceeded our expectations! The location can not be beat for touring the historic area. In addition, the rooms were beautifully furnished and the beds were extremely comfortable. We are all light sleepers and found the hotel very quiet. The housekeeping staff was very attentive. One day, my daughter received a note from the housekeeping staff about a book she was reading. She hope my daughter enjoyed the book as much as she had. Room Service was delicious and very well price compared to other hotels. We hope to return to the Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello MHS-4,

Thank you for a fabulous review and for staying with us! That is wonderful to hear about the room attendant that wrote your daughter a lovely note.

I will be sure to share with the team and thank them for creating such a wonderful experience.

Come back soon!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

When we pulled up we were welcomed immediately by T who set the tone for an enjoyable three day weekend. Each staff member contributed to our feeling comfortable and special. We enjoyed the nightly wine reception the excellent food in the restaurant and the amazing location. This is truly an exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Smarcy2,

Wow that’s 2 in a row for T and his exceptional service. I will be sure to give him praise; in fact I think we may just promote him to Hotel Manager. Happy to see you guys had a wonderful trip and can’t wait to welcome you back.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Director of Stepping Down as Hotel Manager and Promoting T to Take Over
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As soon as the doorman, named simply T, greeted our cab, I knew we were going to like this place. He ran over to my street facing side of the taxi and said "no one has to slide over on my watch" and held my arm as I de-cabbed. He made us stop at a pole covered in rope and rub our hands on it "for wealth and good fortune." He announced us to the receptionist as if we were VIPS. Throughout our trip he was a friendly face and a helping hand. Oh, by the way, the hotel is lovely; the rooms charmingand comfortable; the service gracious and efficient; the location convenient to many attractions; the work out room huge;, the complimentary wine from 5-6 a welcome treat; the restaurant, the Red Owl, truly excellent(chicken pot pie is amazing); the roof top lounge, Stratis, elegant and relaxing; and the free wifi and $10 credit for the mini-bar just for joining the Kimpton club, two nice lagniappes, But it is because of T that we will return to the Monaco the next time we visit Philly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Janet11238,

I must say I am not surprised to read about how fantastic T was and the service he provided you guys. He truly does have service down to a T!!

Come see us and T again!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
Regional Vice President of Service Down to a T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess Anne, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Relaxing time in this beautiful hotel. The Monaco sits conveniently in the Historic District. It is literally a very brief walk to Independence Hall. Staff is well trained in the art of customer service. The rooms are decorated in Parisian style. Beds are fantastic. Best of all they are pet friendly with no size limit on your pet. Would highly recommend this for anyone. Of note, I did not have children with me, but I did notice that the staff welcomes children by greeting them with a wagon full of goodies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear 601kim,

Wow what a great review! Thank you so much for sharing, we love all guests whether they have 2 legs or 4.

Can’t wait to see you guys again!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Director of Pet Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I cannot say enough about the Monaco, the corner room has great views from both set of windows, the bed was large and comfy and what can I say about the wading tub other than it was heavenly. The entire staff was not only gracious but very knowledgeable about the area. We hate to leave and will be back

Room Tip: room 602, I don't think they could have one better as far as I am concerned
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello tcobb31408,

We hate that you left us too! Thank you so much for a wonderful review, the 02 rooms is also my favorite in the hotel. Can’t beat the size and the view!

Don’t be a stranger and come see us again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Regional Director of Heavenly Tubs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.