We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnes Foundation

The Barnes Foundation
2025 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19130
+1 215-278-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Art Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Barnes Foundation houses one of the finest collections of nineteenth- and twentieth-century French painting in the world. An extraordinary number of masterpieces by Renoir, Cezanne and Matisse provide a depth of work by these artists that is unavailable elsewhere. Established as an educational institution, the Barnes carries out its mission teaching classes in its galleries and Arboretum.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

lets start with the building which is stunningly modern and very well laid out.Then the collection-no matter how much you have heard about the art,it still amazes to see so many Renoirs, Matisses, Cezannes and Van Goghs in one place,particularly when you consider that this priceless art was amassed by one person,who bought what he liked when what he liked was considered to be inferior and in poor taste.A must see.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    226
    70
    29
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a truly astonishing collection. I had heard about it for years, but it still exceeded expectations. The building is very beautifully designed and executed, and the staff are friendly and helpful. One piece of advice: buy tickets well in advance, especially on weekends.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overwhelming collection of art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

What a unique museum! The pieces of art are carefully arranged to reflect Barnes' former residence in Merion. From Picasso to Renoir, Matisse to Seurat, you could really spend days in this place. Plan ahead, order tickets online, and be prepared to wait in line... but it is well worth it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great new space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I enjoyed my first visit here, especially the Yinka Shonibare temporary exhibit. It's an easy walk from there to the Franklin Institute.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorofare, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in Philly to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My sister-in-law came to visit us over the summer. She had heard about The Barnes Foundation before we did. She had already made her reservations to go. We dropped her off and picked her up a couple of hours later. She just couldn't stop talking about it and said that we should make reservations as soon as we could. Well, we made reservations and were so thrill with the beautiful art, etc. that we became member and can go any time during the year now without reservations. You'll enjoy it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnes Foundation also viewed

 

Been to The Barnes Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnes Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.