We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a Downtown Conference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value for a Downtown Conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

In early April, I attended a conference at the convention center. All the downtown hotel were $300+. I was very happy to find Homewood Suites.

The building is new and the rooms very up to date and clean. The bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. The front desk answered any questions I had. The breakfast (everyday) and dinner (Mon-Thurs) were well-stocked and tasty. Waffles every other day. I enjoyed the hot tub and pool, and although I didn't use it, the gym was nicely equipped. The hotel shuttle was available for pick up and drop off at the 30th street train station, which was helpful. If I were in Philly again, I would definitely stay here.

I also enjoyed the neighborhood. It is in the middle of campus and several hospitals, but there were really good restaurants and shops. It is a bit quieter than downtown, but during the weekend there were typical college parties in the area. This did not disturb my stay as there were many Uni of Penn security people out to take care of silly, drunken people. I felt safe walking by myself throughout my stay.

It took about twenty minutes by public transportation to get to the convention center and the front desk had the directions. Make sure to buy your tokens during the day from either the market or food court down the road. The kiosk at the station only takes exact change and especially on the weekend, stores open later in the morning. But, the ride was quick and stations were close to the convention center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    91
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
136
28
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in early April for a conference. I've stayed at several other Homewood Suites in different parts of the country and this one was not as good as others. Valet was great but while the staff at the front desk was efficient, I wouldn't say friendly. Having realized my son left his toothbrush at home, I went to the front desk and asked if they had a toothbrush. The clerk said, "Let me see" in an annoyed tone and finished her business on the computer before she went into the drawer to see if there was a cheap toothbrush to hand us, like a charity case. I might have done better begging outside a Wawa store.

The rooms aren't anything spectacular. The neutrogena products are nice. The pool is small and my son liked the hot tub in the corner. Breakfast is on the third floor but security is iffy. A homeless man walked in, piled his plate full (eggs and 10 sausages), and sat down to eat while we were there. On the third floor!! We watched all of this. Security never came.

Pros: liberty bell waffle maker (see photo)

Cons: front desk not as polite as other Homewood Suites. Hotel provides shuttle ONLY to those places listed which all equates to a 1 mile radius.

Would not stay here again if other hotels available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Homewood suites is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It's a very new hotel and it's sparkling and neat. They have all amenities in the room including microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, two TVs in each suite with comfortable beds. They also have remote operated light and temperature control where you will be given a tablet with all options although I would like to say that they are glitchy and don't work very well. They provide complimentary breakfast and dinner(Monday to Thursday) which a good quality. I stayed here to take my medical board exam USMLE for about a week. The hotel gives a great view of the city from the top floors. I was on 7 and anything above that is good. Room service was excellent. Location is phenomenal with great restaurants surrounding it and a grocery and cinema right next to and opposite the hotel(watched American hustle which was great too). It's right on the UPenn campus with security round the clock and a very lively neighbourhood. Overall I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Arrvind R,

Thank you for your review. i am happy that we made you time here a positive one.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times as it is convenient for out visits to the Abrahamson Cancer Center. Rooms are clean, think the need to use your room key to get the elevator to go up to the room levels. Had a problem one time with our temperature control but our stay was free due to that and the fire alarms going off repeatedly but the last few times we have stayed it has been pleasant. Beautiful views from the top floor front of building...city skyline. Breakfast leaves a bit to be desired. Eggs are like cardboard, sausage egg English muffin looked delicious but was awful. Stuck to cereal. Other Philly hotels have some absolutely delicious pastries so not sure why this one is sub par. Convenient to UPenn ...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Hotel and its facilities were excellent, easy access to downtown Philadelphia. I felt safe in the hotel, there were adequate security features for accessing your hotel room. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The price was also quite good for the facilities and amenities. A very well appointed kitchen area, clean bathrooms and good complimentary breakfast and dinner menus. Excellent internet service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

After a long day at the hospital it was easy and safe to take a free shuttle to the hotel and back again. Room can accommodate several people comfortably and nice to have a free breakfast included. Our focus needed to be at the hospital, this hotel afforded that with class.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here from 2/23-3/28 for work. This is a long time away from home no matter the accommodations. This facility was more than I could have hoped for. The rooms were fantastic in terms of space to relax at the end of the day, full kitchen to make meals, fantastic bed, etc.

The amenities were top notch also. The pool/fitness area were more than adequate and I think the lobby was one of the nicer ones I have seen. The hot breakfast and Welcome Home dinner each night were among the highlights for me. Being away from home that long, the last thing you want to do is eat out every single night. A warm, cooked meal and beer at the end of the day in the comfort of the dining room or guest room was outstanding.

The staff was very helpful also. Brought me extra hangers since I was there for so long. Helped with food suggestions, bars, sightseeing, etc. The valet (whatup Wyatt!) were great as well. Had our work vans outside and heating up each morning at 630am and greeted us with a smile. Wyatt especially did a great job of making us feel welcome and suggesting place to visit.

Overall, a 5 week work trip that I was dreading turned into a nice little vacation thanks to this facility. Could not recommend it any higher. If I am ever back in Philly, this is the only place I will stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear bluedukie,

We are glad that your long term stay was comfortable and made your time away from home easier.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.