We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, GA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great new hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

So glad this place opened up, easy to walk to the Penn vet hospital where I was working, lots of places to eat in the area. Parking is expensive ($39/night) but the value for the hotel is good - $149 per night. I enjoyed the breakfast, wasn't there in time for the M-TH complimentary dinners, the business center was easy to use and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    81
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
121
24
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, within a 10 minute walk to U Penn campus. My room (single, king bed) was very spacious, beautifully and graciously furnished with comfortable chairs and a couch. Gorgeous bathroom and very comfortable beds and bedding. The kitchenette had a large refrigerator, and everything you might need for a short or longer stay. Across the street was a movie theater and wonderful restaurant/wine bar. Walking toward campus were lots of shops, a market, and eateries. I would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Highly recommend Homewood Suites. Our stay was due to our son's brain surgery at nearby Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. It was convenient to the hospital by a nice walk through campus or a very convenient and accommodating shuttle service. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Brian K,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that your stay was comfortable and you were able to use our offered services during your son's hospital stay.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel more than met our expectations. The suite we were in was wonderful. It was especially nice to have a refrigerator with ice maker in our room and the internet worked wonderfully. The sitting area was very comfortable and a great place to relax. The hotel staff were wonderful also. I would caution you that valet parking is $39 a night and you must use the valet parking if parking at the hotel. You can park on the street though. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were great! There was also a convenience store less than a block away which was great for quick snack/meal runs. I highly recommend this a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great hotel and location, but no free parking. Also, loading and unloading can be a bit of a challenge as it slopes downhill. But overall great place, free hot breakfast, had free hot dinners. Quiet. Restaurants nearby. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here to be located near a hospital during my husband's procedure. It is a great location and easy to find. This is a second Homewood Suites I've stayed at. The suite was perfect. The lite meal wasn't. Pizza the first night and hot dogs the second. I had to walk to get food the second night after a long day at the hospital. The area is safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice hotel and good rates. Parking was convenient. Good restruants close to the hotel. 200 characters is too many. I don't want to write a book! I don't like this review requirement. mmm mm mmb mm nn nn nn yy yy hh hh hh hmm hmm hmm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.