We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms but not serviced thoroughly every day and food is awful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Town
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms but not serviced thoroughly every day and food is awful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I was here for just over a week on business. The rooms are amazing. Each has a kitchenette complete with microwave, fridge, small stove and even a dishwasher. There is a sitting area and large bedroom. There is a laundry room with a washer and dryer, as well as a typical hotel laundry service. Reliable fast internet; but periodically having to verify credentials at seemingly random times got tedious.

A bit of a let down is the fact that the rooms are not serviced thoroughly every day. Coffee was not always replaced. (There is 24 hour coffee, decaff, tea in the dining area, but this was occasionally lukewarm). Not given new soap every day. One day a pillow cover was removed but not replaced.

Breakfast and dinner are included. There is a variety at breakfast but no fibre. The dinners can only be described as awful. I ate out several times rather than eat the free food in the hotel. There is a Fresh Grocer with an amazing selection of fresh and preprepared foods as well as many restaurants with take out in close proximity.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    81
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
121
24
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in October 2013. The rooms are comfortable with good storage. There is a bedroom and a sitting room/kitchen. You might need to kitchen because the food available is not really very tempting. It was the main area of concern for most of my colleagues. The complimentary evening meal is served is a short window from 7 - 9pm which is not very convenient. It is a limited buffet aided by free red and while wine. Many people preferred to run down the road to the supermarket to get sushi. The room entry system is very strange - it took about 5 minutes for the door entry system to activate after being given my key-card. The desk will tell you it will take 'a couple of minutes'.

So, the good things? Comfort, very helpful staff everywhere, free beer and wine, nice area. I would stay there again in a work context.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff at the Homewood Suites, University City were very pleasant, professional and will to help with all accomodations. Our stay was for medical reasons at CHOP, the hotel shuttled us to and from appointments which was great. The hotel is located in an excellent area for restaurants, grocery, banking and a short walk from the hospital and other retail. I would recommend this hotel to any other family that needs a place for a long term stay. Their meals were also pretty good with a variety of choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Dawn C,

Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites University City. We are glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle around the University City area and you recommend us for long term stays.

Thanks,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Definitely would stay here again. Service was fine, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the room quiet. As someone else noted, they save on utilities by having you leave your magnetic key inserted inside the room -- without it, much of the power goes off. That and the odd switches took a little getting used to. Would advise street parking rather than valet, as street parking there is both free and safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read through the reviews before choosing this hotel so I was aware of some of the downsides. The neighbourhood is great as long as you stay on Walnut Street and head east. Just a block north and you are surprised on how quick it transitioned. The valet drop off was tricky. The valets themselves were friendly and helpful. It could take time to get your car and sometimes it would be there but blocked by other cars or shuttles so you would end up waiting. I guessed that for the price the parking would be secured but on the valet station was a sign saying they aren't responsible for lost goods or vandalism of your vehicle. Turns out they are just parked outside behind the hotel. I don't think that it is worth that price considering. That being said, our car didn't have any damage.

The room is nice, bigger than an average hotel suite. It has two rooms and a bathroom. There is a door separating the two rooms but ours was broken so couldn't be closed. A neat feature was that the key was used to power the room. Once removed there was a five minute delay and then the lights would go off but so did the A/C so when you returned it would be working overtime to cool the room again.

There are two TV's in the room, one in the living space and one in the bedroom. The one in the bedroom is larger, both are flat screens. The one in the bedroom in our room didn't work though. We didn't bother with it so I can't speak to whether they would have fixed it or not.

In the living space there is a smaller sofa and a chair as well as an ottoman on casters. I rolled it out of the way and found stains on the carpet. Yuck! The carpet in the suite looked a bit dingy but the stain was bright pink/red. The sofa wasn't really that comfortable but worked. There is a small table and two chairs which wasn't ideal for us since there were three of us staying. I ended up standing for most of my meals and once pulled the ottoman over and sat on it. The kitchen itself is basic. There is a sink, small amount of counter space, fridge (small but not like a bar fridge that you usually find in hotel rooms though), two elements, microwave with hood fan built in, dishwasher and lots of cupboards. They provide two pots, four smaller plates, four bowls, four mugs, one microwave safe dish to cook in, four short glasses, four taller glasses, can opener, bottle opener, knife, small coffee maker and accompaniments and a toaster. I found it tricky to cook in the kitchen and had brought extras with me worrying that I wouldn't have something I needed. The kitchen was clean though. The fridge made a strange sound all the time. It also had an ice maker in the freezer which made a lot of noise when it was operating and didn't really make more than a handful of ice. It seemed you had to remove the ice in the bucket in order to get it to make more.

In the hall between the bedroom and livingroom I did find an old coke bottle cap which wasn't ours so that made me concerned about the cleanliness of the room. There was a few hairs on the shower wall. Other than that I didn't see anything that made me think it wasn't cleaned properly.

The bedroom we had had two double beds, a desk, dresser with drawers for clothes with the tv on top of that. In the closet there was some extra blankets and an ironing board and iron. Each bed had a lot of pillows on them so you wouldn't have to ask for more. The beds weren't very comfortable. My husband and I both had a hard time getting comfortable and sleeping well in them. Our room was on the fifth floor facing Walnut Street. We could hear street noises throughout the night like sirens and traffic.

The bathroom was nice, the tile was nice and looked new. The toiletries provided were Neutrogena brand which is nice. They didn't have ingredients listed on them so we didn't use them (allergies).

There was a tablet in the bedroom that controlled the lights and heating/cooling system. You could also order groceries using it. It played music and had those nature sounds for those that enjoy that for sleeping. It was a cool feature for sure. The room had a ceiling fan as well which kept us perfectly cool for sleeping. It wasn't loud at all. We did hear some noise from the room next to us but not much at all. We were lucky to be at the end of the hall so we only shared one wall with another room.

The day we checked out (early at 7:30am) we asked for a baggage cart to be brought up to our room to help us get our stuff out. We had quite a bit to bring down. After about 20 minutes of waiting, one of the valets knocked on the door and explained they had been looking for one and couldn't find one so he was going to have to help us get them down. Very sweet of him but it would have made all of our lives easier to have the baggage cart. He later said they only have four for the whole hotel and that sometimes guests take them into their rooms. I would say that a hotel of this size would need more than four. The gentleman that helped us with our bags was very apologetic and helpful. He brought them right down to the valet station where our car was waiting and he helped us load them into the trunk as well.

The staff were very kind and helpful to us. We were always greeted with a smile and a good morning (or evening). Even staff members coming into the hotel to start their shift made a point to smile and greet us. All of the guys at the valet station were friendly and always offered to help with directions. I will say the one time we did say we needed help, the valet didn't know where the place we were going was (The Please Touch Museum) and told us to follow the directions from the touch screen just inside the doors. The lobby is beautiful and bright. There are lots of places to sit and relax and there is a small store that you can get drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My three-night stay was very comfortable. The hotel seems new-ish, and the rooms are clean and well-appointed. My ninth floor room had a fantastic view of the city. The bedrooms have [quiet] ceiling fans, and the hotel itself is in a quiet part of town. I slept very well here and will return if presented with the opportunity. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: High floor with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Unfriendly staff at check-in, had some type of i-pad in room that didn't work. Waited for retrieving bags from valet while he was texting on his phone and ignored us, overall customer service was not what you would expect from a hotel in this category.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.