We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Homewood Stay of All!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Best Homewood Stay of All!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable room layouts, great comfy bed & excellent service by the hotel staff! This was the best Homewood Suites that I have stayed in compared to all the others in the past 13 yrs. If needing to be at Penn State or any of the university hospitals/medical centers...this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Deborah P,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you feel this hotel is the best Homewood of all.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
100
17
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Amazing staff, outstanding service and beautiful atmosphere. We were treated like royalty. I will forever remember our stay . We couldn't of asked for a better location, a cleaner room and a more attentive staff. Fabulous all the way around. Plus the super yummy breakfast and dinners every night were very 5 star! Thank you Homeward Suites for hiring such caring, quality employees!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In Philly for a birthday party and found this hotel to be in a great location and liked the fact that it was so modern. Valet parking was helpful (although a bit pricey) and the front desk was very quick. Our room was a good size although it took a bit of time to figure out how to turn the lights on. Shower does need a light above it. No room service but the free breakfast had a lot of offerings and is served in room with plenty of space and outdoor seating. Good wifi and the TV had all the channels we wanted. No room noise at night. Indoor pool and hot tub and the gym is awesome. Check out was fast. Will stay here again if/when in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The new hotel is in a great area with awesome staff. Rooms are spacious and clean and the bed was so comfortable! Only issue we ran in was getting subway tokens and that has nothing to do with the hotel. Definitely stay here and enjoy your time in Philly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear tapdanzer,

Thank your for your positive review about the hotel and our staff. Hope that you return soon.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fantastic service. Great location. Would recommend anyone to stay at this location. Staff was great. We were there for a convention downtown. It was an easy walk to SEPTA or a cheap cab ride downtown. The only thing missing was the area could use a few more late night places to eat. Otherwise this was a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear James R,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over Labor Day Weekend. Beautiful new property with spacious rooms and staff willing to go the extra mile! Conveniently located outside the center of the city but within a few minute drive.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite gives enough ample space for a couple travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SivadNe,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our great staff.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton,FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed here twice while helping my daughter get adjusted to her new school.The shuttle was wonderful and very helpful..as was the entire staff. The maids were very honest when after we checked out I got a call that they had found something personal I left behind and they drove the shuttle to bring it to me!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear jbgreen,

Thank you for your review. I am gald that me were able to get your items back to you. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.