We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious, and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've been here twice over the last 4 months. The suite is quite spacious, clean, and comfortable, and with a pull out sofa can easily accommodate 3 adults. The kitchenette is also practical with a full size frig and freezer. The hotel is very conveniently located to Penn and streets north. The only watchout is the parking fee which is $39/day + tax (~20%)-ouch! This prevents me from giving a 5 star rating. You can find parking across the street for free, if you're very lucky. The price includes a generous breakfast and depending when you stay, there can be a light buffet dinner included! The pool is large for an urban hotel and the exercise room is very adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    61
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
99
16
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Brand new fully upscale suite hotel. Could not be cleaner or with a more gracious staff. Honestly feels like a lot more upscale tha a homewood. I would certainly stay again. So much for the price with a indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family stayed here in two rooms during college visits to Penn which is within walking distance. The valet was very helpful and allowed us to park in the drive for 20 mins while we checked in and then headed out again. When we went to our room we realized they had connecting rooms but ours were not. So we called down to see if connecting rooms were available and were told no problem-they will have new rooms for us when we return later in the afternoon(and they were).

This is a very new hotel so very clean overall. The breakfast was really very good, a clear step up from just a continental breakfast than one typically finds at 'breakfast included' properties. Eggs, bacon, scones, bagels, waffles, cereal, Egg/Sausage breakfast sandwiches- pretty comprehensive. The complimentary dinner was a surprise to us (weekdays) which were chicken fajitas, wine, beer, breads.

The rooms themselves were nice suites w kitchen and sitting area- 2 TVS. Bedding, bathrooms, amenities etc were all perfectly fine, no complaints whatsoever. The public areas with lots of sofas, lots of TVs were spic/span and my wife really liked the workout room. Having to swipe the keys in the elevator and needing the room key to operate some of the room lights was a little bit of a hassle. The bathroom lights were a little tough getting used to turning on/off (i think you have to push the switch twice?). $39/day valet parking was stiff but after experiencing the terrible parking issues in the city of Philadelphia, not surprising if this was a standard charge. The valet guys we encountered were very nice and helpful but could see how they could be overwhelmed at a busy period since there's only one of them on duty at a time.

Overall, a very nice stay, met all the core requirements and then some. Service and staff were all very nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Good location, clean large rooms with nice televisions. Breakfast and dinner were much appreciated. Close to necessities. Lees hoagies is only a short 75 yards away. 35 bucks to park is not justified and they rent to a great number of students.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Spur2012,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brand new hotel, clean, spacious rooms, with kitchen. We were on the 8th floor and had a nice view of the city. The night was very quiet did not hear any noise at all. The staff was polite, the valet service was quick. There was a manager's reception in the evening. They had cream of broccoli soup, hot dogs, coffee, tea, cocoa and wine. The gym is modern, they also have a nice indoor pool. The staff was polite. The area of the hotel looked safe, there was plenty of small stores, Starbucks, McDonalds nearby. Very nice, clean part of the city. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Higher level, away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Lepke24,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I made my decision based on the CHOP discount and hotels that did not show up on the bed bug radar haha. It happens to the best of them, but because I didn't see their name on the list, they won! When I got there, the driver took my car, and we went to the lobby. It was only a few minutes to get my room key and info. The room was awesome, I (of course) double checked for bed bugs, and check out the bathroom. It had bath and body works amenities. There was mouth wash and some other things (make up remover, etc..). There was a nice kitchen with coffee, tea, etc... and a little living room with a pull out sofa. Unfortunately, my baby got sick while we were there, but the quickly brought us more bedding at 2am. They also offer free dinner (during the week) and breakfasts. The breakfast is awesome! It's a pretty nice buffet. They offer shuttle service, but we didn't use it. I didn't use the pool, but apparently it's nice. The only issue I had was figuring out the way too hot thermostat....likely user error haha. I would like to stay at others to compare other hotels in the area, but I really don't think I want to risk giving up a good thing. It took me about 5 minutes to get to CHOP on market street and about 10 to CHOP in civic. I spent more time looking for parking (at Civic. Market street Chop is easy and full of available parking!). They were all very friendly. I was worried that I might have to stay another night due to the storm and they said that we could play it by ear since they didn't have a full house. So very accommodating!

Room Tip: I stayed in 1020. It wasn't a spectacular view...just a side street, but it was still beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dansab75,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found us and enjoyed all that we offer.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a surprise! I chose a quick, inexpensive option for a one night stay in Philadelphia on a college tour with my daughter. This one was near Penn and Drexel and looked adequate for our purposes. What a treat to find a new, clean, nicely decorated hotel with many amenities. We loved the roomy suite after spending the previous night in a shoebox room in NYC. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear CloudGal,

Thank for your review of our hotel. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.