We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in Philly!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Must Stay in Philly!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had a long morning at the airport and I was first greeted by the hotel manager and instantly felt better. The security of the hotel is superb! You have to have a room key to get to the guest floors. Got up to my room on the 10th floor, you also have to use the room key to turn on everything in your suite. I love it! Very conservative on energy. I reserved a 1 bedroom king bed suite. Everything was extremely clean and well lit if you need it to be. Up to date appliances and HUGE flat screen tvs. One in the common living room area and the other in the bedroom. The bed is huge and comfortable.

We sadly missed the dinner on Thursday night, they were having SALMON! My favorite. We did however partake of the breakfast on the next morning. Hot and cold items were very good! We really loved the breakfast burritos on saturday morning! The breakfast attendants were very nice as well.

The gym has weights and cardio machines, balls, mats, and large mirrors. The technology in this hotel was everything! Easy access to restaurants and if you need to get downtown a cab ride is usually $15-$20, and the subway is a 5min walk. I loved the location! Not in the hussle and bussle. Very quiet and relaxing.

IF YOU ARE IN PHILADELPHIA ON BUSINESS, you must request that your company puts you in this hotel! Although it is an extended stay with a kitchen, laundry services etc My boyfriend and I had an amazing time celebrating our anniversary here. We will definitely be back! Thank you all sooooo much! :-)

Room Tip: Room 1013 was a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Lenny G,

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    76
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
112
22
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just stayed for 2 nights while my Mother had surgery at University of Philadelphia Hospital. Great hotel so clean and staff is so friendly and helpful. I travel a great deal for business and love staying at a Hilton hotel and this one is on the top of my list. Also recommend the hotel to the surgeon to recommend to families of his patients they are adding it to their list ! We will be back in 2 weeks and will without a doubt again stay at the Homewood Suites>

Thanks !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Donna K,

Thank you for the positive comments about the staff. We are very proud to provide the best service.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is reality new, is of a high quality and overall offers good value for money. Breakfast is included with the rate for all rooms. There is a 24 shop in the hotel that is a small version of a convenience store. There is washing, computer, gym facilities, and car parking available at the hotel too.

If you are looking for good value for money accommodation then we would recommend this hotel to you.

You can also earn Hilton HHonours points at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Brent Q,

We are glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Thank you for your review.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great experience at Homewood Suites. When planning our trip, we were finding it difficult to fit our family of 6 in one room. We were looking at spending double to reserve 2 rooms. Then, we found Homewood Suites. It had just the right amount of sleeping space and had a small living room and a kitchenette! Perfect! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were visiting during the week which was lucky because it included breakfast and dinner! Great rates with our AAA discount. We would go back again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Bonnie G,

Thank you for all of the positive comments. We are glad we could accommodate you and your family.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, and I have found Homewood Suites to be the most consistent of all of the different Hilton brands. The properties are always clean, spacious and up to date, and the services and amenities are consistent.

This is a fairly new property, so it had a nice clean feel to it. You check in on the third floor-there is an elevator that takes you directly to the lobby.

My room was on the top floor. It was a spacious 1 bedroom suite. The key cards are proximity sensors, so you just hold your card against the sensor in the elevator and press the button for your floor (you cannot access the floors with rooms unless you have a key card). You also hold it up against the sensor on your door to access your room. Very cool.

There are great restaurants within walking distance (see my separate review of New Delhi, which is only a block away).

Breakfast in the morning was a standard Homewood Suites breakfast, with good selection and real china and cutlery.

Two things that, while they aren't really negatives, you should be aware of:

First, the only real option for parking is their valet service, which, at $39 a night, seems a little steep for the neighborhood. It is very convenient, though.

The second is that there is no light or power in your room unless you put your key card in a slot located just inside the room next to the door. This probably saves a lot of electricity, which is good (although you can just request an extra key card and just leave it in there). Just remember to have all of your stuff in your hands and pull the front door open before you remove the key card from the slot, or you won't be able to see anything.

My room on the top floor was very quiet.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear ARWhite,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being a Hhonors Diamond Member.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This brand-spanking-new hotel in West Philadelphia at the heart of the UPenn campus is an outstanding option for individuals or families seeking more space and comfort than a traditional hotel room is capable of providing.

Rooms are clean and modern with very well-supplied kitchens, including full-sized fridge-freezers and dishwashers.

Beds are comfortable with white linens and nice pillows.

Hot breakfast is available seven days a week, and a hot dinner Monday-Thursday. Both are complimentary. I do think that the hotel could do a better job with the hot breakfast options -- higher-quality ingredients and more creative, healthier choices would be nice.

All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. At about the same price as the tired and rundown Sheraton in West Philadelphia, one would be crazy not to choose this hotel over the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have interesting views over Philadelphia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear travelwiz13,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are happy to join the West Philadelphia/University City community.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel was spotless. The staff including the driver Darnell were exceptional. We were staying at the University City location while our new born son was at Children's Hospital for surgery. We were very satisfied and will definitely choose Homewood Suites again.

Room Tip: If you are coming to the area to visit Children's Hospital they have a special rate. Make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear PhillyCodeHound,

Thank your for the positive review about your stay. Darnell is a great asset to the hotel. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.