We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect alternative to Sheraton or Hilton in University City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites University City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect alternative to Sheraton or Hilton in University City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

In the University City area of West Philadelphia, you have three main hotel choices: Sheraton University City, Hilton Inn at Penn, or Homewood Suites. For the money, I prefer Homewood.
Positives:
- The hotel is brand new, less than one year old.
- Rooms are clean and organized with more space for the money than the other area hotels.
- Since it's all suites, you have an efficiency kitchenette that would suffice if you wanted to eat in. However, you can also enjoy the included daily breakfast (and weeknight dinners) in the hotel's lounge at no additional cost. The lounge is impeccably clean and well-organized with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate offered 24 hours a day.
- The front desk staff are professional and courteous.
- The pool and gym areas are tidy with plenty of clean towels available.
- WiFi is free for guests and actually works, unlike the Sheraton's.
- If you give advanced notice, a free shuttle is offered by the hotel to take you where you need to go in Philly.
Negatives:
- The hotel is on the western edge of University City and the neighborhood a bit further to the west gets somewhat dicey at night. Thankfully, there are many restaurants and shops just to the east of the hotel . That area is relatively safe at night as it's regularly patrolled by Philadelphia PD as well as UPenn's police.
- Valet parking at $26/night is in line with other area hotels, but is too expensive considering you can self park at a garage down the street for much less.
- The rooms are energy efficient which is mostly positive, but the lighting in the toilet/shower area of the bathroom is way too dim!

Overall, after several pleasant stays at Homewood, I would recommend it for anyone looking to stay in University City.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side of the hotel have a nice view of the Philadelphia skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear TravelingLightly,

Thank you for the positive comment about your stay at our hotel. We are very proud of our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    69
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
107
19
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Brand new hotel. Beautifully done - very clean, well laid out studio room. We stayed on a weekend night - hotel seemed very quiet. Located at the western edge of the UPenn campus. Area seemed safe, lots of activity, even though past 41st Street. Staff was REALLY nice and friendly all around. Breakfast was well laid out & pretty good. Really a find. Recommend highly. Much nicer than the Sheraton UC (having stayed there before). Plus it has a really nice pool & workout room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear BobField,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the pool, fitness center and breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you are visiting U Penn, look no further! It is a fifteen minute delightful walk to the centre of U Penn. We had a lovely furnished suite ( with a dining table and sitting room) and as such were extremely happy with the Hotel. The breakfast was pretty good. The staff were also very helpful. As such we loved the Hotel and would be back when our work gets us to this area next.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear prasan68,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive comments about the staff, breakfast and your suite. Look forward to you future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is great -- new, clean, with a helpful, friendly staff. The rooms are large and comfortable. The complementary breakfast offers a nice selection. The only downside (hence the 4 stars) is the location which is not within walking distance of center city and the historic areas. It is only a short subway ride away though with the subway stop 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear KATHLEEN A,

We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and you like the rooms and the breakfast. We take pride in the friendliness of our staff. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I needed a place to stay with my two girls for 6 weeks. My daughter was receiving treatment at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. I am so glad I picked this hotel. The staff were kind and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay the best. The shuttle drivers Darnell, Tyrez, and Tyrone took us to and from the hospital daily. They became our friends and driving each day was the highlight of our day. The food was excellent each day. Thanks so much to CJ, Stacey, April, Amanda, and Anna. They always stopped by our table to say hi. The housekeeping crew was excellent and made our room looked wonderful. Tanya was such a dear person always checking on us when we went to the swimming pool. At the front desk Chris, Shekel, Amanda were always professional. The managers Gary, Pat, and Irene made us feel like a welcomed guest each day. The valet Zach had such a friendly, positive attitude. The whole staff made our stay the absolute best from start to finish. I have never been treated so well in a hotel.

Room Tip: The double bed suites are an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Krystin M,

We consider you family now. It was a pleasure having you and your daughters stay with us. Thank you for the great comments about the staff, they are our greatest asset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very new and clean hotel with great amenities. The room was very nice; the fitness and business center were excellent; the breakfast and dinner were top notch.

However, what is most important is the professionalism of the staff. They are courteous, professional and dedicated to their guests. Hats off to April and Amanda who have gone out of their way to ensure my stay was an enjoyable one.

I will definitely return to this hotel for future trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Nguyen V,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It is great to hear that the staff made your visit enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcamp, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for a quick trip to Philly for our anniversary and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I'm a native of West Philadelphia and I would like to say that this hotel is just what University City needed. The other hotel options in the area, while nice, are a bit dated. This hotel is like a breath of fresh air. This hotel is new and contains all modern, updated decor. The room furnishings are updated and the bed is super comfortable.
I would like to state the only downfall is parking. There is no garage available however there is a valet service for $29 nightly. However, there seemed to be ample street parking.
My husband and I both agree that this hotel will now be our "Go-To" hotel when staying in the city. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear FeBrews,

Thank you for the positive comment about your stay. We are glad to know that you will be back. That is the best compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites University City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.