We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Eggs Cafe

Green Eggs Cafe
212 S 13th St, Midtown Village, Philadelphia, PA 19107
267-861-0314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We love to try new places in Philadelphia and New York. The service was great and staff friendly, atmosphere busy but fun, and the menu was interesting and varied. Portions were larger than I expected so if your a lighter eater plan to share. Ingredients were fresh and food well prepared. I had the Creme Brulee French Toast which has an excellent flavor but could only eat half. My husband had the breakfast burrito which he ordered vegetarian and he was pleased. The able adjacent to ours ordered the Red Velvet Pancakes. Warning: It comes out the size of a small cake! The side orders of meat are also large. We had a great experience and would like to try their dinner soon. It appears they just started to open for dinner M-Th. Fri and Sat are breakfast and lunch only.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    40
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Love Breakfast and Love when I get to try new things. This place had all the makings of a delicious breakfast

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The food was great and large portions. We shared apple pie French toast and banana/blueberry pancakes. Both were excellent. Would have liked more fruit on the pancakes, but otherwise had no complaints.
Service was very good. We had a friendly, attentive waitress. I will definitely go again next time I am in Philly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stuffed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is terrific. Big and imaginative breakfasts. If you want, they can even be excessive. But they're all delicious! My favorite: the cheese grits with ... anything!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Short-Rib Benedict and Mac & Cheese Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Don't let the waiting line detract you from trying Green Eggs Cafe--definitely worth the wait! The portions are huge and the food is fresh and first-rate. Go hungry, or plan on taking leftovers with you... we will most certainly return on our next trip to Philadelphia. We went to the Midtown Village location, but there are two others from which to choose.

Seriously, check out the menu: http://greeneggscafe.com/menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Eggs Cafe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Green Eggs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Eggs Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.