We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch speakers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center
525 Arch Street, Independence Mall, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-409-6600
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 281 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and a national town hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top notch speakers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently attended an event with Vice President Al Gore as the speaker discussing his new book. The event was extremely very well attended which meant moving the event from the auditorium out on to the expansive second floor wrapping around the staircase. Giant screens allowed everyone to see and hear the talk. The VP presented a clear talk about the research anf writing process for his new book that looks at many strands of information that currently and for the future will be concern for everyone. The question and answer session was interesting andf allowed audience participation.
There will be more excellent talks at the NCC over the next weeks. I look forward to more high level discussion on current topics of interest to all citizens of our nation. I applaud the NCC for being in the forefront of discussions that engage us continually in support for the constitution.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    131
    58
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Best part of the Historic district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Independence Hall right across the way is nice, but after an hour, you are about finished with that visit. Same with the Liberty Bell. Here howeveer you can spend an entire fascinating day. If you are at all in to US History this is very worth the visit. Great place for a rainy day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Total immerision as your role as a citizen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is unfortunate that many Americans don't understand their role as a citizen. It's isn't all about your rights. There is an expectation to be involved and to contribute to the better good of your country.

A visit to the National Constitution Center will explain the history behind the document You will see the founding fathers, negotiating through extremely tough issues and being a example for compromise our present day officials should attempt to emulate. Learn about the sacrifices that Americans before us made so that you can live in this country, with rights that others can only dream about.

The exhibits are interactive, drawing you to be involved. A terrific place that has something for everyone, especially for families and school groups.

It's a beautiful setting and building. The staff is outstanding. And, the lessons are a must learn for every American citizen.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I am not a history buff at all, but totally LOVED this wonderful treasure! Our history is presented in such a wonderful, interesting way that you are just enthralled. The timeline walks you through history and shows the foundation on which our country was built. The live production was especially nice. Could have easily spent hours there and will definitely visit again when I am in Philadelphia.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Must for every American or tourist in Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved every bit of this center. The structure is beautiful, the exhibits are well orchestrated and there is room for the kids to explore. We also saw the American Spirit-Prohibition exhibit which was really fun, especially for my two young sons. Sounds funny, but there are some very interactive elements and they didn't know what the subject matter was anyway. We also took some wonderful photos of Philadelphia from it's location!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Constitution Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Constitution Center to your Saves list