We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center
525 Arch Street, Independence Mall, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-409-6600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Constitution Center like an insider
Special Offer
$72*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #26 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and a national town hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The NCC has a great live presentation about the Constitution and its amendments. Save time for pix in the statuary hall and have a friend at home ready to look for you on the webcam.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    163
    66
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Must See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The center was rented out at night for a bar mitzvah. It was great. I didn't see much of the center but would like to next time I come to philly. They have a room filled with statues that recreate the signing of the constitution. I thought it was very cleaver.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were surprised that the main part of the visit was taken up with an actor explaining the start of the US constitution, great if you are American!
Enjoyed the statues of the signers of the Declaration.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting - lots of cool things done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

When we travel, my kids – 16 and 12 – have a strong radar that warns them against anything educational and/or historical. But we all enjoyed our time in Philly – Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, and the National Constitution Center. Spent nearly two hours in the Center.

I thought the "Freedom Rising" multimedia show – presented in a theater-in-the-round – was excellent. Informative and explained things clearly. Plus, just the timing of how things unfold in the presentation, and how the actor's words melded perfectly with the audio clips, was impressively worked out. Had to have been a lot of work put into it. I thought the content and presentation both were great.

We also liked the room with the life-sized accurate figures of all the constitution convention delegates, and the many many interactive & static displays that explain how our constitution shaped – and continues to shape – our country.

Do include this on your visit to Philadelphia.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome, interactive museum; plan on lots of time here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We bought tickets ahead of time so we avoided lines. There is parking in an underground garage, which is convenient. We parked and then got tickets to take the Independence Hall tour. After the tour, we walked down Market St. and ate lunch. There are many restaurants between 2nd & 3rd on Market. Afterwards, we went to the Constitution Center and stayed until closing because it was so interactive and so much fun. I have gone there with visitors varying in age fro 10 - 80 and everyione has loved it.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Constitution Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.