We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center
525 Arch Street, Independence Mall, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-409-6600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Constitution Center like an insider
Special Offer
$72*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #26 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and a national town hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Very very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My family visited the National Constitution Center on Tuesday June 28th. The exhibits were great and very informative. I tried reading most but my family got way ahead of me so I had to skip alot unfortunately. If you are a history buff and want to know more about our country and its foundations and you are in Philadelphia this is a must see.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    163
    66
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orrington, Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delivers exactly what it promises. Maybe not for younger kids. Nice cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The experience starts with a 'show' called Freedom Rising, which combines projected video and still images with live narration. Yes, some of the script is a little schmaltzy, but it does do a good job putting the constitution in historical context. Then you go into the main exhibit hall, which is a timeline of events that have shaped constitutional history, each part containing some historical artifact related to the topic discussed. Very interesting for me and my 13 year old history buff son, but little kids might get bored-- this is an educational experience, not so much an interactive gee-whiz experience (although there are a few sort of interactive displays). One room is a mock-up of Independence hall, with life sized sculptures of the convention delegates you can walk among, which was interesting (especially if you've been to the real IH across the lawn). Unlike everything else around independence park, this one charges admission, and I think it is a fair cost (wouldnt want to have paid more than we did, though). I will say that as far as museum cafes go, this place has a pretty good one.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it but the kids were bored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Very nice museum and fantastic We the People presentation. I would have like to spend several hours there reading all the exhibits, but the kids and wife who are not history buffs, found it boring.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One-stop shopping for a total review of the US Constitution--amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Remember all those boring history classes about the 1st continental congress, then the 2nd continental congress, the articles of confederation, blah, blah, blah?. Well, this museum BRINGS IT ALL TO LIFE. It is a complete history of American history regarding the concept, creation, writing and implementation of the Constitution that established the greatest nation on the planet. The exhibits are wonderful and interesting. It starts with a multi-media theatre experience "in the round" AND a live person who talks through the presentation with precision and enthusiasm. The last exhibit is a room full of life-size bronze statues - all of the signers of the Constitution plus the 3 dissenters. Take your picture with the ones you admire. Stand by them to see how LARGE George Washington was and how SMALL James Madison was. You will walk away with a renewed appreciation for the compromises required to establish our country.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits and production”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We visited the Constitution Center with a group of 16 5th graders on a recent 3 day field trip to Philadelphia. This was one of everyone's favorite stops. The exhibits are interactive and timely (kids could take the presidential oath of office, sign the Constitution and vote for example). The show, Freedom Rising was engaging and well produced. The kids especially liked the Signers' Hall which is just a room with statues of the signers. They looked for all of the signers from Virginia and loved how many they recognized.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Constitution Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.