We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Statue has moved!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Statue

Rocky Statue
2600 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Center City Phila, Philadelphia, PA 19130
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 281 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Famous fictional Heavyweight Champion "Rocky" is forever remembered in this bronze statue, which pays tribute to the underdog.
2 reviews
“Statue has moved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The statue isn't where the app says it is! It has been moved to outside the philadelphia museum of art right next to the rocky steps, so you can kill 2 birds with 1 stone. Around the middle of the day there is a huge queue but we got there around 10 and only waited a couple of minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    118
    69
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you're in the downtown Philly area, this is def worth a trip to check out. My two teen boys had a blast running up the steps in reenactment of the Rocky series. Great photo op and the view from the top of the stairs is quite lovely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“If you love the Rocky movies...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

For all fans of the Rocky movies this is a nice little stop to take a picture with the iconic statute. There was a homeless man offering to take pictures. We let him take a picture of our family and it was a great shot! Usually we never get a shot of all of us so we appreciated the service and gave him a dollar. He was thankful and polite. One of those times when not to judge a book by the cover.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An American Icon in the Historic City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was surprised that there was a continuous line waiting to take pics with the Rocky Statue! I've been a Rocky fan since childhood, and this was great fun for me with my two teen daughters. They've recently watched the movies and ran the stairs of the museum like everyone else there visiting!

There was a guy waiting to take several pics for you with your camera for any tip amount you wanted to give him, and another guy was selling $10 Rocky tee shirts.

Worth the stop to see the Rock!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth doing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

All you pay is parking. You can pose by the bronze statue on the right side as you're looking at the museum. The line goes quickly. There are a few vendors selling stuff like Rocky T-shirts, bottled water and Gatorade. Go to the stop top of the 72 steps and see the engraved rocky footprints, dance if it is in you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Statue also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rocky Statue to your Saves list