We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but no full mirror??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue to your Saves list
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, but no full mirror??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My daughter and I attended the Beyonce Jay-Z concert on July 5th and we stayed at the the Philadelphia location on rt. 1. Much to our surprise, there was no full mirror and the radio/alarm wasn't working. I've stayed at this Hilton many times, but was dissapointed at this particular stay:(

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I do apologize for the issues that occurred and thank you for bringing them to my attention. Your concerns will be shared with the appropriate team members. I do hope howerver that your overall stay was enjoyable and that you has a great time at the concert and in Philadelphia during the holiday weekend. I sincerely hope that you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    112
    104
    74
    69
See reviews for
138
51
26
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Clean, well run hotel - great location for concerts at Mann Center. I would stay again if I had to be in this part of Philly. We were able to find on street parking, but they have both valet and paid lot options in case that doesn't happen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feed back and your stay. I was pleased to read that both the hotel and it's service team met you needs and expectations. I hope to have you as a guest again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is not a bad hotel, but the service is underwhelming. Rooms are ok but as with all other Hilton hotels, they are as tight as anything...
You get nothing (even though I am an Honors member) pay for internet, water, everything.
The steakhouse though is excellent

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate your feedback greatly and will shar it with all members of the management team so that we can work on improving our value for dollars spent. I will also share your kind comments about Delmonico's and it's service team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked the executive board room on the 3rd floor of this hotel for a meeting and was pleased with the service that I received from the Director of Catering, Randy Schaller. The room has a long conference table with high back leather chairs (about 12 I think), a white board that I used as a screen for my projector, and nice lighting including dimming chandeliers. The room was ready when needed with my company name on a sign in front and at the front door. The extension cords were run to a convenient space under the table and taped down to the carpet. Room service delivered delicious cheese plates and cocktail shrimp on time. Overall, Randy was a pleasure to deal with and helped my meeting go smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for having held your meeting at the hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts. It was a pleasure reading how Randy and his team met all of your needs and expecations. I look forward to your company holding future events at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stay here often when coming into town to visit with family. The hotel shows signs of wear but overall it's a good nights stay. Breakfast is worth the extra $10 at booking time. This a nice spread to choose from. My only negative experience was the chairs needed cleaning.....food down in the cracks. I have a pet peave for that kind of stuff. I don't want nor expect that from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for you multiple stays and for taking the time to share your thoughts and please accept my. I believe it is always important to receive both the positive as well as not so positive guest feedback as both types of feedback will only assist in making the hotel better. I will be sharing your comments with our restaurant and Hourskeeping departments so that they can do a better job in keeping the restaurant clean.

Again please accept my apologies and thank you for your feedback. if I may ever be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Please dont let the picture fool you. This hotel is not on the water. It's next door to a large pond of a reservoir with another one in construction. Nothing pretty to look. Now lets look inside. Bar is nice. Rooms are old with worn out furniture. Room service breakfast was horrible. My wife asked for a soft runny egg on toast and she got a hard boiled egg on burnt black toast. The toast I had was old and stale. The only reason why we stayed here was the location to where we had to be. I will never stay here again. I will contact the manager about the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share the issues you experienced with breakfast. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced and I will be reaching out to you regarding the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel was perfect as it was a great hotel and close to my daytime business meetings. I learned that the location is not great in terms of safety and going out at night. Daytime safety and having many places to choose to eat from during the day was very good. However, you need to be in a taxi or driving to get around at night even if where you are going is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for sharing your thoughts. I was please to read that you enjoyed your stay and that they hotel met you needs. I hope to have you as a guest again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.