We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was very adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue to your Saves list
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
scranton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hotel was very adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a Saturday nite. valet parking was quick, $10 was a little expensive for this far out of the city. check in went fine and quick, room was a king, clean and great large screen tv. i had a late nite sandwich in the bar area that was served timely and courteously. my negatives would be ,,, button lights in the elevator did not all work (floor 7 did not) chair and ottoman in the room were a bit dated, took a bit longer than expected to get my car from valet in the am, they told me 5 - 10 min, took almost 20. i would stay here again....

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on both the positive aspects of your stay as well those areas in which you feel the hotel could do a better job in taking care of the guest. Your feed back is truly valued and will be shared with the appropriate team members to make any needed improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    112
    104
    74
    69
See reviews for
138
51
26
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is an aging hotel suffering degraded infrastructure
It's quite a distance from the airport and not all that convenient for downtown Philadelphia
The rooms were dark and run down and clear indications of lack of maintenance. The shower was old and the towel rack rusted and bent down hanging off the wall
This place needs updating badly

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for having stayed at the hotel and for posting a review. The feedback you have shared is greatly appreciated and valued. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members so that corrective steps can be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
498 reviews 498 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The lobby at this hotel is lovely and the front desk/welcome service is outstanding. Sadly, upon entering the elevators for the guest floors things go quickly downhill. The hallways feel dark and outdated. The rooms are in need of serious renovation. I was in the corner suite of the Hilton Honors floor and the condition of my room was a dissapointment. The furniture is worn, carpet buckled, walls scuffed, shower outdated.

As for location - my room view featured a nice vista of Center City Philly in the distance... Sadly the foreground is dominated by old retention ponds currently under noisy construction.

The hotel has the right people and a solid service ethic - it's time to invest in modernizing the propery.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was please to read that while you found issues with decor etc, your interaction with the Service Team was a positive one and they met your needs and expectations. I do hope that you choose to stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service at this restaurant is truly the worst I have experienced in years. For a restaurant to charge as much as they do one should expect the service to go along with the high price of the food. I was with a party of 6 and it took the waiter almost an hour to take our orders. After our food was served no one came back to the table to ask if everything was okay and if there was anything else we needed. The deserts were cold and were sent back.
The restaurant was half empty so I am at a loss as to why the service was so bad. Avoid throwing your money away on an expensive meal with poor service in the lobby of a Hilton franchise hotel that at best is an average hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your dining experience in Delmonico's. I would like to personally apolgize that your experience was not as pleasant and enjoyable as it should have been. Delmonico's has built a very strong reputation with both the local community as well as with our hotel guests. I am truly sorry that with your dining experience the restaurant and it's Service Team did not shine and live up to it's repuation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel is about 45 minutes from airport. Hotel listed as about 5 miles from downtown and it took almost 25 minutes to get there. Cabs are not readily available, so expect to wait around 10 to 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I am truly sorry that you encountered transportation issues in going from the hotel to Center City. While it is only five miles from the hotel to Center City there are times where traffic can back up and delays occurr. Aside from these travel related issues I hope that your stay was otherwise pleasant and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night for a meeting at the college next door. While the room was clean and the bed comfortable (and my room was quite large but I think I was upgraded as an HH Gold) there is lots about this hotel that could be improved. As others have noted some of the room furniture is worn -- might be time for an update.

Service in the restaurant is okay, but can be slow (at least the times was there).

My biggest concern was with little things. The business center had UPS shipping labels, but no envelopes/UPS boxes, nothing. I asked at the front desk and the response was basically non-responsive -- no we don't have any.... I expect more from a full service HIlton.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I truly appreciate your feedback and would like to personally apologize for the lack true hospitality that was displayed by the team member when you brought your concerns to their attention. I assure you that this is not the norm here at the hotel and I am sorry that this was the type of interaction that you encountered. I will be sure to share your thoughts with all members of the team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family had 2 rooms in this center city hotel. As is the case with urban hotels, almost every amenity comes with a cost. Parking is a steep $10 a day.
The club and desk chairs in both rooms were torn and/or missing the brown bonded leather in many places. The tan fabric showed where the leather was missing, giving the chairs a mottled effect. The mattresses could use replacing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and, for this reason, the hotel deserves 4 stars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was please to read that the hotel's Service Team met your needs and expectations and assisted in making your stay pleasant and enjoyable. I truly appreciate the feedback you have supplied with regards to issues related guest room decor and wear and tear. This information is valued and will be put to good use. I hope that you will choose to stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.