We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hilton, good location outside the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue to your Saves list
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Solid Hilton, good location outside the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I've stayed here two times over the past year. Service is excellent and the rooms are standard Hilton. The location is great if you have appointments outside the city. Valet parking, while not required, is probably what you'll need to use, so plan for that. The gym is standard, but in good working order and clean. Wifi worked great, and the restaurant and bar area is busy with good service. This Hilton works well for business travelers.
There are a few restaurants you can walk to, including a little shopping center with a Target, Starbucks, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    112
    104
    74
    69
See reviews for
138
51
26
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA, USA
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel was fine in virtually all respects. The weekend pricing on the executive floor was more than reasonable, and the executive lounge was well staffed and furnished. Breadfast served there was excellent. Check-in and check-out were fast, friendly and accurate. A very welcoming experience. If there is a negative it's that a first time guest can find it confusing to enter by auto on the first visit. City Avenue is a very busy thoroughfare and if approaching from the city, there are multiple left turns available close to the hotel. You must pass the hotel and turn in to reach the front entrance.

Room Tip: Book executive floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is sincerely appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Had some bad experiences.

1. Guys. You should not lie.
I am a gold member and I requested a space-available upgrade to exec floor. The first employee I met told me that the night is full book, so it cannot be done. Because I did not think it was busy time of the month and week, I requested again to higher manager. And suddenly a room appeared. I would not think that you guys gave me a booked room. No way.
I know that it is more convenient to just lie that you are fully booked, but pleas lie all the time consistently or don't.

2. It took about 30 min. to borrow a flash light.
I know I am not supposed to borrow one, but employees in the front were very negligent about how much it is going to take for their security to bring one. One woman was almost very rude and did not care about anything out of her job description.

3. Breakfast area smelled like a towel that's not been properly dried. You know.. the smell of water gone bad.

Only thing that was nice was door men who did their job.
The front desk employees should learn about the upgrade policy of hilton honnors, and general attitude.

Room Tip: "I am sorry, the overall experience was not good"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your overall experience, and I will be sending you a private message to further assist you. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Hilton website advertised free wired internet. Even after showing them this, I was notified by a snobbish front desk staff that no such thing existed, and I'd have to pay $10/night for wireless. Rooms were terrible. Sure your lamps look fancy, but you don't even have a fridge or microwave. No complementary breakfast, no free airport shuttle, $15/night for a roll-away bed, and they actually wanted $10/night for parking. I consistently get way better service from even the cheapest of economy hotels. I feel used and extorted.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies if you were mislead in any way regarding the amenities offered here at the Hilton Philadelphia. I took some time to review our website content and was able to verify that all content is correct. The items you have questioned are correcty advertised so as to avoid our guests having false expectations. We do not offer, nor do we advertise complimentary internet, complimentary breakfast, complimentary rollaway beds, airport transportation, or microwaves. Thank you again for your feedback, I will be sending you a private message to see how we can make this right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at this Hilton recently for work and I would say that it's a very solid place. Room was clean, bright and comfortable. Check in and check out were both very easy and the staff was all very eager to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back to the Hilton soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent one weekday night on a business trip. Hotel met my expectations for a Hilton hotel. Dinner at Delmonico's restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Only complaint/recommendation is the parking costs $5 in an outdoor lot and is a 100 yard or so walk from hotel. Valet parking is $10, next time I'll pay the extra $5.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here for a campus visit to Haverford College. The hotel is located in the City Line business shopping district, about twenty minutes northwest of downtown. The hotel would be perfect for a business traveler who had multiple stops - it's also convenient to the Main Line, Chestnut Hill, Manayunk, etc. but if you're here to see the Art Museum and Liberty Bell this is not the place. Our room was distinctly average, a bit small, two double beds a bathroom that could have used renovation.I have had nicer at the Hilton Garden Inns., warm fridge.The hotel offered the new Peter Thomas Roth amenities, but shower gel was not provided. There was a nice large LG flat screen. Breakfast at Delmonico was quite good - the omelet guy makes real rolled omelettes, not the egg pancakes that a lot of these buffet "chefs" make and there were cold cuts and smoked salmon. It's buffet only and worth it on the package.Valet parking took a long time bringing our car - I think the garage is a ways off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the reservoir
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.