We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour and guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free and Friendly Tours

Free and Friendly Tours
401a Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
+1 877-558-9671
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a Free and Friendly walking tour with us! It’s free, which means you tip us what you want. It’s friendly because we’re friendly folks. And it’s Philadelphia because we love it and want you to love it too. We’re a Philly company and we’ll show you the whole Philadelphia – or the whole of what’s in walking distance. We lend our friendship freely and we’ll gladly recommend a place to go out after the tour.
Winchester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Great tour and guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Mark is an excellent guide, you could say by the beginning that he not just now so well the city, but he also loves it and enjoys explaining to you everything about Benjamin Franklin, the Declaration of Independence and all the attractions in the city. At the end he showed me one of the best places to get the famous cheesesteak.
I totally recommend this tour for any kind of group o person.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great tour with a friendly guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Mark was really great, relaxed, happy to answer numerous questions and made the tour interesting. A great introduction to Philly on our first afternoon in the city, with a good variety of sights. Felt bad that there was only the two of us on the tour as it is all based on tips, it was really worth it and we would recommend the Billy Penn tour to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Couldn't be better for a free tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great way to get acquainted in a comfortable way with the city. Tour guide was friendly and very informative. Saw some cool things that we most certainly would have missed if we were on our own without a guide. He also helped us to get around the city after the tour with subway instructions. Definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting Philly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

These guys are great. I took the Billy Penn tour, which is their tour of the more modern parts of Philly - what makes the Philly of today so special. I got to see and learn things that I never would have otherwise.

This company is relatively new (1.5-2 years old) but they know their stuff. They were on time, friendly and very happy to share what they knew. I highly recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A great tour. Mark showed myself and my girlfriend around the centre of Philadelphia, the Billy Penn tour. It was exactly what we wanted - just under two hours (with a food/bathroom break), and without much Colonial stuff (as we already had done Colonial stuff in the city).

Unfortunately for Mark, it was just the two of us, and we hadn't planned on being his only source of income that day, and we gave him less than we would have liked to. But he didn't seem to mind a single bit. It's tips only, and he really doesn't put any pressure to give, which is great.

It's a great tour, and Mark is a knowledgeable local who gave us great advice on any questions we had for him.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free and Friendly Tours also viewed

 

Been to Free and Friendly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free and Friendly Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.