We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiarella's Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chiarella's Ristorante
1600 S 11th St, Philadelphia, PA 19148-1104
215-334-6404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chiarella's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #258 of 3,778 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: E Passyunk Ave.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

First I must add that I was a fan for many years when they were at the shore in Wildwood.This food,service and atmosphere actually topped that.Their famous Chiarella salad,outstanding veal dishes and scrumptious salmon and penne specials were worth the trip from Bucks County to South Philly.The tiramisu was the best we have ever eaten and the portions were huge and delicious.Vetri,the Saloon and Modo Mio should take lessons from them.WE WILL BE Back

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service, & tiramisu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped in last night during the lighting of the Christmas tree. The food was fantastic! He had a Caesar salad, rigatoni with meatballs, & the NY Cheesecake. I had french onion soup, chicken topped with prosciutto, mushrooms, sweet peppers, and buffalo mozzarella in a white wine sauce, and the tiramisu. The service was great, and the sense of community was the cherry on top. Fellow customers would say "good night" or "Merry Christmas" as they walked by our table - a rarity in today's world. Tommy was funny and took great care of us! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love artichokes and Frank Sinatra. So when we walked in to Chiarella's, heard ol' Blue eyes crooning and the evening's special was a thin pork filet topped with artichokes, i figured this was gonna be a good night. And we were not disappointed. There is stiff competition for great Italian food in this neighborhood; this was our first visit to this restaurant so we entered with a bit of healthy skepticism. We were greeted by the owner and seated right away. There is a small but friendly bar area as you walk in; not a bad place though to wait for a table if you had to. Wines were opened quickly. The bread was crisp and warm and was served with ample olive oil. Special appetizers (breaded veggies; white bean crostini) were fresh and light. All of the entrees were ample portions. Our measure of a good Italian restaurant is the nature of it's tomato sauce. This was just the right balance of sweet and herbed. Blackened tilapia was moist, chicken tomasino with roasted red peppers and spinach was a great blend. We shared several desserts, all well done. This is a great BYO. I don't want to sound too over the top, but all 5 in our party were completely thrilled with our dinners and having grown up in Philly we were dumbfounded that we hadn't been here before, though we've walked past it many times. Don't walk by- stop and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place may be small, but their attention to the customers and tasty food are well worth the small space!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Italian Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Love the service and neighborly attitude and feel of Chiarella's. Very nice size portions, homey Italian food. Classic dishes, with classic preps. Good satisfying dinner out in South Philly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiarella's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Chiarella's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiarella's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.