We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge - CLOSED

Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge
123 Chestnut, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
2159646262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center East
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Food, service, atmosphere all scored high here! Great place to sit and have a great meal with fabulous staff at a decent price! The restaurant itself is lovely. The staff was fantastic! Bartenders were great - shout out to Jay! Friendly and high class without the snobbery. The meals were fantastic from the burger to the lobster bisque to the cheesecake! A fantastic bourbon selection - including bourbon butter! Highly recommend this place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    3
    5
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Just awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Went there on a Friday night with a decent size group of guys and we were extremely disappointed. We ordered a round of drinks and cigars and after 30 minutes we were still waiting. We then spoke to the manager and he was indifferent so we left. The place was empty and we couldn't get a drink. Just a very disappointing experience.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

As a Philadelphia "foodie," we know the restaurants in this town. I think that's why we're always on a diet :). Anyway, Reserve is a nice steakhouse to add to the six or seven others in town. The atmosphere (originally a beautiful bank) was nice, the staff couldn't have been more attentive and the kitchen did a nice job with the many things we ordered. The price was right for the level of the restaurant. I think you will enjoy your experience Olde City spot as much as we did.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I had a group of 12 people at Reserve. The restaurant is beautiful and we were looking forward to some great steaks...what a disappointment! The steaks were overpriced and over cooked. Even when I sent mine back for being overcooked, the next one came back even more well done. It was half price wine night but the waiter forgot to deduct the discount off the bill until I brought it to his attention. Service was very slow. We had to ask for bread 4 times until they finally brought it nearly 30 minutes after asking. I will never go here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“All sizzle, little substance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stunning old bank building located in Old town Philadelphia. The venue is majestic and very tastefully done. That's where the good news stops. A myriad of issues that should not exist for a restaurant open barely 3 months. Worn dirty menus, dirty glasses, mostly out of stock wines from an already tiny california specific wine list, untrained slightly arrogant wait staff, cigar bar without proper ventilation, expensive prices, mediocre and limited food menu. All in all very dissapointing and at $100 per head extremely expensive. If they do not get their act together real fast there is little doubt they will not survive. There are just too many other good steak house restaurants in Center City.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;