We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge - CLOSED

Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge
123 Chestnut, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
2159646262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center East
PHILADELPHIA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

As a Philadelphia "foodie," we know the restaurants in this town. I think that's why we're always on a diet :). Anyway, Reserve is a nice steakhouse to add to the six or seven others in town. The atmosphere (originally a beautiful bank) was nice, the staff couldn't have been more attentive and the kitchen did a nice job with the many things we ordered. The price was right for the level of the restaurant. I think you will enjoy your experience Olde City spot as much as we did.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I had a group of 12 people at Reserve. The restaurant is beautiful and we were looking forward to some great steaks...what a disappointment! The steaks were overpriced and over cooked. Even when I sent mine back for being overcooked, the next one came back even more well done. It was half price wine night but the waiter forgot to deduct the discount off the bill until I brought it to his attention. Service was very slow. We had to ask for bread 4 times until they finally brought it nearly 30 minutes after asking. I will never go here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“All sizzle, little substance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stunning old bank building located in Old town Philadelphia. The venue is majestic and very tastefully done. That's where the good news stops. A myriad of issues that should not exist for a restaurant open barely 3 months. Worn dirty menus, dirty glasses, mostly out of stock wines from an already tiny california specific wine list, untrained slightly arrogant wait staff, cigar bar without proper ventilation, expensive prices, mediocre and limited food menu. All in all very dissapointing and at $100 per head extremely expensive. If they do not get their act together real fast there is little doubt they will not survive. There are just too many other good steak house restaurants in Center City.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So many other places to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have been in this space several times before in other culinary incarnations. Bar is comfy and bartenders are attentive. Lotsa sports on the TVs and music ever present. You can't get away from the din, however, and the space is large and unforgiving and loud, made worse by the groups of customers there for the expense account dinner. Then there is the tobacco smell that should not be detectable from the cigar bar in back.
And then I come back to the fact that this is supposed to be a restaurant that is flouting its beefy cred with standards such as filet mignon and New York strip with kitchy variations such as the American or Australian. Go online for the particulars. But that's as far as you should go.
The food was terrible starting with the seafood sampler. Tired, bland way pre-cooked half tiny lobster tail, several water-logged shrimp, lifeless crab lumps, anemic oysters/clams. Mediocre salads followed. I then had the 10 oz New York strip that was tough and thin in spite of the correct doneness. Everything was salty, salty, salty to boot. Finally, they were out of the flourless chocolate cake and apple dessert on a barely attended Thursday night.
With so many other great choices in this city, why would you open a place like Reserve much less patronize it. No new ideas, bad food, etc. Skip it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Interior is phneomenal, with true sense of charm and luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice and comfortable place with good service and good basic menu. Portions are generous so come hungry. Bar is worth your attention since it stocked very well, and you can take your own bourbon flights. Service is very good, our waiter Robert was very attentive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reserve Restaurant Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.