We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Philly charm and quality in East Falls.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorino

Fiorino
3572 Indian Queen Lane, Philadelphia, PA 19129
(215) 843-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“South Philly charm and quality in East Falls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Straightforward menu, interesting specials, great atmosphere, personable service and a no-fee BYOB to boot - all without needing to get on 76, find parking in South Philly, or deal with the hipster foodie crowd.

Reasonably priced, plenty of parking, understated, unassuming - focusing on execution and squarely hitting the mark.

Chef Franco went table to table checking the quality of the food at one point, seeming to know most of the diners from previous visits - I'm apparently not alone in thinking that this place is worthy of regular return visits.

No surprise there, I'd suggest reservations if you're going on a weekend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown.Pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“warm and inviting atmosphere great dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Have visited this restaurant a few times since they opened. Each time better and better.
Very cute small and friendly place real neighboorhood feel to it. Have been following
Franco Faggi, the owner, since the early eighties even got married in his first restaurant
the Monte Carlo. We have enjoyed them all but this in our favorite.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent little Italian trattoria.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Tucked away on a small street in the East Falls district of Philadelphia is this sweet restaurant reminiscent of small town Italy. The food is excellent. The service outstanding. The ambience lovely and welcoming. My sister and I were celebrating her b'day. We started off with tuna carpaccio and grilled calamari -- both sophisticated, tasty and beautifully presented. We followed with pork medallions with roasted root veggies and a grilled seafood platter containing scallops, shrimp, crab, flounder, and calamari. Each delectable morsel was cooked to perfection. Servers were attentive, not interrupting our conversation yet somehow magically keeping our glasses full. And I love it when they wait until each person is finished eating to clear a plate instead of swooping in to 'get this out of your way.'. I can't say enough laudatory things about Fiorino. It's BYOB, so the cost is kept down in that domain. Go there, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Go to Fiorino and you will not be disappointed! Located in the East Falls section of Philadelphia, Chef Franco has opened a modest little eatery (BYOB) that serves up wonderful plates in a cute atmosphere. Parking is tight, so be prepared. And use your GPS to find it; it's tucked away in a neighborhood where no restaurant has ever gone. Whatever you do, don't use Google maps from the Main Line-baaaad directions!
Back to my review. If you don't order the gnocchi (you can get it as an appetizer) you will be missing the most ethereal of gnocchi ever. I speared some off my friend's plate and was sorry when the waiter took it away with some left in the dish. If short ribs are a special of the evening, don't even hesitate. Three succulent ribs that melt in your mouth is the best way to describe them. My hubby had the scallops which he announced were wonderful. The menu has something for everyone-pasta, veal, vegetables, etc. Service was attentive, but unobtrusive. All in all, a delightful dining experience was had by all. Make reservations! There are only about 11 tables which fill up quickly.
Enjoy!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiorino also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Fiorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.