We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat their Garcia Margarita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Calaca Feliz

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Calaca Feliz
2321 Fairmount Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19130
215-787-9930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Calaca Feliz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 3,720 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can't beat their Garcia Margarita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Their margaritas are fantastic! The tacos are one of their best dishes, but all are pretty good. It can get busy and noisy on weekend nights.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    19
    17
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great space, good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a surprisingly wonderful experience at this unique restaurant, close to everything in the Fairmount section of the city, including parking. A relatively modest front door is slightly deceiving to what is offered just on the other side. The service is very good and the space is amazing. It is exceptionally appointed, warm and accommodating. The back room is open and there is seating outside in a garden area. It is a nice oasis from the street and quiet enough for conversation. The guacamole is great, margaritas very good and tacos carnitas delicious. Already recommended it to friends and looking for an opportunity to return with kids to try more menu items, especially the nachos that look incredible. Portions are not small. Kudos to Feliz!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great margaritas, really good fish tacos, like the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I live close to this restaurant so it is a place we go when we want to go out, but don't feel like a taxi, bus or driving. That being said, I would go here even if I had to make an effort to get there because their food is really flavorful, the service is sopt on and the Feliz Margarita is one of the best margaritas I have had - and at 7.50 (5.00 at happy hour) it is a good price. Go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food on Fairmount”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I live about 8 blocks from here, and it is extremely difficult to not come here every night. It's great for happy hour, dinner with friends, or a date. The margaritas are dangerous, and they have seasonal flavors available. The guacamole is incredible, as is the crab fundido. If you like cheese and crab meat, you need to order the fundido. We've almost made our way through the menu, and nothing has disappointed yet.

The bar area is a little tight, but in the summer they have a great back patio available. The staff is always friendly and accomodating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food here is really well made and tastes GOOD! We sat at the bar. The wait for a table was 45 minutes. The service was also really good. They were very busy. Their Nachos was layered all the way. There was some kind of pizza with asparagus topping. Jicama salad was really good. I was just sorry I could not order and eat more food. I will go back there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Calaca Feliz also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to La Calaca Feliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Calaca Feliz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.