We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cigar Bar :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At The Union League

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn At The Union League
Save
You added The Inn At The Union League to your Saves list
1450 Sansom Street, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Cigar Bar :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was there for a business conference - good place, clean room, helpful staff, great location.
what i loved best is the cigar bar.
I eat a few times there, not in the high-end restaurant but in the bar. Food was delicious and priced well. My one complaint is the mattress. I had back pain after one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
17
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Inn at the Union League left much to be desired. The reception and banquet rooms were beautiful and well appointed; unfortunately the beauty did not carry over to the guest rooms at the Inn. The room I stayed in was drafty, offered no privacy (as I could overhear every conversation in the hallway and I imagine that other guests could hear mine), and it overlooked a brick wall. For the money, I would rather stay at one of the many other beautiful Philadelphia City Center hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

You couldn't ask for anything more and the location was wonderful. Great area for walking and people watching. Though the Union League rules dictate business casual dress for the FREE delicious breakfast in their dining room (which for guys was collared shirts tucked in and khakis; for gals it was khakis with dress T-shirt - no logo) there was NO dress code for the Inn itself. Thus, if you came and went via the Inn entrance, you could wear shorts and t-shirts (which we did because it was 96 degrees out). And you could help yourself in any kind of dress to the continental breakfast available in the 4th floor lounge. As to staff and/or Union League members treating us poorly, I did not experience that at all. It was a wonderfully comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 412 which had 2 queen size beds. You can split the room easily with a friend or fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

1862 was one of the best places I have had the pleasure of eating! I am very pleased to be nominated for membership to have access to the entire club, but especially 1862.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I recently had an overnight at the Inn at the Union League in Philadelphia. First of all the Hotel was "THE BEST". But the rest of the Union League is right out of a movie - LITERALLY! (There was even a scene from the 80's movie Trading Places filmed there.) The location of the Union League is the best - right in center city. The restaurant is probably one of the most elite restaurants in the City - but look out big eaters - they are small - gourmet portions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

One of the best restaurants ever; the food is great, the sommelier is excellent and the atmosphere is unique. I dine there often, most for business, and I can recommend this place to anyone. You may probably not get in easily if you're not a member of the Union League however a member can always bring you in under his/her membership.

The ultimate dining experience, for dinner and lunch!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, Ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Inn at Union League is a beautiful, historic club/hotel located in a great area of Philadelphia with proximity to the convention center and other key places. The rooms are large, nicely furnished and very clean and the staff was helpful and very courteous. We loved staying here and would definitely do so again. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. We appreciated the dress code of no jeans or sneakers in the dining area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Address: 1450 Sansom Street, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At The Union League, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.