We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vedge

Vedge
1221 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
215.320.7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vedge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Washington DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quite Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Vedge for my birthday. Planning the trip to Philly, we looked online for a special-occasion restaurant. I didn’t restrict my search only to vegan or vegetarian restaurants but was glad to see a vegan place so high on the list. When I saw Vedge's reviews and their menu, I could not resist.

From pre-dinner drinks and starters, to the main course, through to the spectacular dessert, it was all excellent. I highly recommend Vedge, not just to vegetarians and vegans, but to just about anyone looking for a special place for dinner.

On the downside, the it's all hard-surfaces, so there's a good bit of noise that I wish weren't there, as a more subdued environment would allow for less shouting to be heard and a better focus on the food. If you go all-in for cocktails, wine, starters, dessert, and so on, it begins to become a pricey dinner, but the quality is certainly there. We left feeling full and satisfied, and that we'd had an experience worthy of a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    45
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a fantastic and very unusual dinner at Vedge. There are no bad choices on this menu. Everything is amazingly fresh and we really enjoyed the cocktails also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Vedge - a must try for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Vedge has everything you could want in a restaurant: excellent and attentive staff, beautiful decor and delicious food. Non-vegetarians/vegans will enjoy the menu just as much as their non-meat eating counterparts. Try everything on the dirt list if you can - kung pow cauliflower is a personal favorite. Happy hour is fun here too, come early and grad a seat in the small cocktail lounge just off the bar and enjoy the lovely architectural details. Rich Landau is a genius!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“World-class dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Don't think of Vedge as a vegan restaurant--think of it as a world-class restaurant. And, fortunately, it just happens to be vegan, which means instead of the usual one or two entrees for vegetarians and vegans, there is an entire menu to pick from! And there are no bad choices! I was in Philadelphia on business and ate at Vedge for three evenings straight--it was that good. A spicy, incredible turnip soup was on the "dirt list" the first night I dined there, and lucky for me, I picked it as one of my choices because it was not on the list the other two nights. But, a terrific cucumber soup was on the menu the next evening and an equally good gazpacho was on the dirt list the last evening. The sweet potato pate' was amazing, as was the roasted maitake mushroom and the braciole with roasted eggplant. There are no bad choices--and what a delight to have so many choices. I bought the older cookbook at the restaurant, and have already made the cucumber soup. A new cookbook comes out this fall--I can't wait! Thanks, Richard Landau and Kate Jacoby for this true labor of love--I met Kate one evening, having recognized her from a photo in the cookbook, as she cleaned the glass window in the front door. She is as gracious as her food is terrific!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Doesn't Get Better Than This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ambience A+. Cleanliness A+. Food quality A++++! Even my meat-eating husband loved the food. SO healthy and flavorful! Moderate prices but small servings, so everything adds up. Give your taste buds a treat at Vedge! Best thing about this place... no animals were sacrificed. Making progress toward a better world for all!. At this day & age, we really don't have to kill for survival, happiness & good health. Mahalo, Vedge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vedge also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Vedge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.