We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere, so-so food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Route 6

Route 6
600 N Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
215-391-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mt. Vernon
Transit: Septa Subway - Broad Street Line to Spring Garden. Septa Subway - Broad Ridge Spur to Fairmount.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The atmosphere at this place is great. Upbeat, friendly and comfortable. We particularly appreciated our excellent service from the maitre d', waitress and valets. Unfortunately though, the food was only okay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    18
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Go for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Six of us had dinner, and all thought the appetizers and entrees were excellent. A good touch was the ability too choose the 2 sides you wanted. Service was attentive and pleasant.

The motif was shore based, with straight back chairs and displays of shells. The tables were placed too close together, but conversation was easy.

Parking was chancy, but we found a spot on circling the block. Valet was $12.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went here on a Friday night and got a booth in the 'annex'. there was a really nice atmosphere here. The food was immense! I went for some local oysters from the raw bar to start and then followed up with fried chicken, and yes I realise it's a seafood joint, but after a lot of discussion with the waitress I opted to go 'shore style'.
It's the first time I've had proper fried chicken and it was just what I needed. Comforting, not too fatty (which I find a big problem with food in the US) and not too large a portion. Just right.
The colleagues I was with had fish which came with 2 sides included (nice not to have to pay extra) and again the portions were good. The jumbo shrimp was very tasty!
The service was great and the waitress seemed very knowledgeable about the food and the drink, especially the whisky.
It's a little bit out of town so some people may miss it (I went there with a locally based colleague). I don't often give out a 5 but I would definately recommend and hope to come back here for more

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“For True Seafood Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Take it from this Massachusetts native who summered on Cape Cod, Route 6 is an outstanding dining experience from start to finish. Great pristine raw bar selections that include superb oysters and wonder of wonders NE clams. The dining room is lovely and captures the upscale seaside restaurant look and vibe of Cape Cod. The service was spot on and the servers knowledgeable. No surprise with Marc Oppen as the GM. My server was Betina and she was great. Starr restaurants consistently have the city's highest quality proteins and the seafood at Route 6 has that "fresh catch" taste. I had the 3 pound lobster at a great price point (1.5, and 2 pounders available too), and it was perfectly prepared. As New Englanders know, the bigger the lobster, the greater need for a skilled chef. It was sweet and delicious. My Bloody Mary was garnished with a pickled oyster - fantastic. For those for whom only an ice cold beer/ale is the way to go with seafood - the right choices are all there. The sides are standouts with plenty to share or take home. Leave room for dessert or take one home. I loved that the diningroom clientele was so diverse - race, gender, age, solo diners, couples groups -- a true Philadelphia representation. As I looked across the diningrooms, everyone was having a great time. Plenty of room between tables too. The menu offerings fit a wide range of budgets. When it's all about tasting seafood in its most pure, freshest form - Route 6 is THE place in Philly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Starr Does Seafood - reasonable well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were the last to walk in at 9:15 on a Sunday night a few weeks back but staff was still very welcoming. Nicely appointed and airy - the restaurant decor is a cross between the Vineyard and relaxed california styles. Came for the oysters and they didn't disappoint. Oyster crackers were best we've ever had, hands down, so we asked server for a sample - they should sell these things for takeout!! Menu has good options - really wanted the flounder sandwich but got stuffed flounder by mistake. Manager personally apologized and comped us - a much appreciated gesture. What I got was tasty but the spinach bed had too much garlic and the plate needed something else, maybe a small risotto cake or other starch. Wines by the glass all seemed like they had lost their acidity although selection erred on side of sweeter options. Overall very good and would probably go again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 6 also viewed

 

Been to Route 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.