We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in West Mt. Airy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenida

Avenida
7402 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19119
267-385-6857
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Avenida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #725 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Guatemalan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Gowen Ave
Transit: Allen"s Lane train station, Gowen Avenue train station. Septa
Description: We invite you to indulge your taste buds in the bold Latin American flavors and tantalizing cocktails that we serve at Philadelphia’s award-winning restaurant, Avenida.Set in a historic Mount Airy home built in the 1700s, patrons will sit by the stone fireplace or on the romantic outdoor porch sipping margaritas and sampling Chef Edgar’s signature guacamole with homemade tortilla chips and salsa.Stop by for dinner tonight to sample the award-winning delicacies that he and wife and partner Chef Kim Katz Alvarez have prepared. And do bring the kids! The owners of Avenida pride themselves on being family-friendly.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Find in West Mt. Airy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nestled on Germantown Ave., it is just a stone's throw from tony Chestnut Hill. It resides in a large, old stone house with an enclosed patio in the back that is perfect for parties.
The food has a South American flair because the owner/chef is from Ecuador, but don't let that put you off. The food is delicious without being overspiced.
They recently changed their menu to all small plates, but some of the favorites remain. For about $8-10 you get an appetizer portion of deliciousness. Usually two plates is enough with maybe an occasional side to share. They have a daily soup and ceviche.
Highlights include their fish taco, small hangar steak, calamari, and mole spare ribs (when available).
The drinks are unusual and include a Brazilian mojito and blood orange mojito. There are several beers on tap and an array of South American wines.
Dress is very casual, and on a nice night, you can dine al fresco. The service was prompt and friendly.
The only downside is the noise, which can be a bit much because of the proximity of the tables in a small space. Still, for a casual and somewhat unusual dining experience, I give Avenida top marks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
““Tacos and mojitos; a perfect combination””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stopped for dinner at Avenida, Cocina Latina, on a Tuesday evening and they were featuring “taco Tuesday”, which was three tacos and three sides for $20. I opted for the special and I have to say it was a great call. The tacos were fantastic and filling. The sides were also tasty. I also had an orange mojito and it was one of the best drinks I have even had. Of course I had to order another. If I wasn’t scheduled to give a research talk at Drexel the next morning, I would have had an additional mojito as they are that good. For desert I had the coconut tres leches cake, with mango sorbet. Wow, tastes like it looks. Absolutely delicious. My colleagues enjoyed their dinner and drinks as well. Our waitress was very helpful and courteous. Avenida is a fantastic place for Latin American cuisine in Philadelphia. I will visit again for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very cool - not your average mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

superb setting in rear garden for evening meal under the stars. the food is gourmet mexican with damn good sangria. would recommend this to anyone who whats something "better that the average bear".

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best in Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I am going to give this restaurant 5-stars, not because it ranks with Lutece in New York, but because it does so many things so, so well, at a reasonable price. If you are an adventurous eater, you will love this restaurant. It is at the top of the pile for adventurous, small, specialty, fresh-ingredient local restaurants.

First, the location is charming, warm and inviting, on the East end of Chestnut Hill. Happily, the restaurant is still enough of a "secret" locals' favorite to enable someone to walk in without a reservation on a Friday night. Primarily younger clientele (30's to 40's).

Second, the food and quality of wines offered/recommended surpassed our expectations. Dishes are inventive and unique, made with the freshest of ingredients. Adventurous but not overwhelming spicing in some dishes. (The duck truly was one of the finest and best-prepared duck dishes I have ever had ANYWHERE at any price- succulent, fresh, cooked to medium-rare perfection, wonderful crisp skin. The pork dish was excellent and flavorful. Beet salad very good. Fried oysters excellent. Black bean soup truly one of the best I have ever had ANYWHERE at any price. Deserts made on premises and ours was excellent.)

Third, and I like this(!), the bill of fare is very reasonable given the quality of the dinner. I must admit I did feel a bit rushed by the waitress and super-brisk service, but this just requires a bit of waitress-management. Atmosphere is extremely informal.

The only thing holding this restaurant back is (I think) that there is not as much demand for Latin cuisine in Philadelphia as there is for other more common cuisines. But given the effort and ingenuity the management put into this meal, they deserve to do well, and I wish them the best. Top of my list for restaurants I want to go back to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Most perfectly cooked duck I ever had.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went here for my 1 year anniversary and overall this restaurant was very good, food was tasty and moderately priced. I would love to stop by for the taco Tuesday I keep hearing about. Calamari and sides like the veg and mash had a tendency to be just a smidge under seasoned. The duck breast however I am still dreaming about, the most perfectly seasoned and cooked duck I ever had. Yum! People seem to be complaining about the notice but its a small restaurant people, like the size of a home, it's not going to be quiet as a mouse. I found the atmosphere and noise to be just fine for the space.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenida also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.