We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to standard, boring hotel chains.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Philadelphia

Oakwood Philadelphia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oakwood Philadelphia to your Saves list
Oakwood Philadelphia
1601 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great alternative to standard, boring hotel chains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent family stay, great value. Needed more than a room, and this 2 bedroom was PERFECT. Excellent location in the heart of town, walking distance to everything, even campuses across the river, staff very professional and friendly, apartment well equipped ... memorable stay and would do this again and again in Philly instead of any hotel. Only caveat is that this tends to be for longer term stays. Oakwood overall has been very good for longer term stays in various citites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Half of the apartments in this building face an alley lined with garbage dumpsters. Despite Philly's noise ordinance, garbage collection trucks from various companies visit the alley several times each morning often starting at 4:00 am. It is so loud it's jarring! Any noise in this alley becomes amplified due to close proximity to adjacent buildings, so the usual noises (i.e. fans, people) become an extreme nuisance. To avoid the alley, I suggest requesting a room on the 16th or Sansom side of the building. That said, the apartments are furnished with everything you need (even a washer/dryer in the room), the location is excellent, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. One reviewer said the apartments are enormous, but mine is smallish, about the size of a hotel suite, so obviously the sizes vary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Currently here in the middle of a two month extended work stay. First off, this place is very close to Rittenhouse, Suburban Station, restaurants, and nightlife. The staff (Shirley, Sherry, and Kirstie) are friendly, informative, and very responsive to tenant needs and the apartments are ENORMOUS. Main problems: very old thin mattress beds and worn and questionably clean carpets. Also, there's slightly more than average street noise (comparable to Manhattan), and poor pots, pans, and knives. Then again, in this location, who needs to stay in?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had a few family members visiting the area that preferred to stay in an apartment as oppose to a hotel, since they could cook their own meals. I started my search and came across Oakwood Philadelphia. The apartment was fully furnished and they provided the same amenities as a hotel plus so much more for a FRACTION of the cost.

The rooms are sparkly clean, roomy and tastefully decorated. I found the staff to be extremely knowledgeable and gave great recommendations for places to visit in the area. The location is also very convenient; with tons of restaurants and boutiques just minutes from your door steps.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I only come into Philly once a year for our annual convention at the Convention Center, and I decided to try out Oakwood on this visit. I didn't want to stay in a hotel because I like to cook my own meals and eat healthy. Oakwood came out a bit cheaper than a hotel and I saved money on food, so I won in the end. And Shirley their concierge was so nice! Every night after the Convention I would come "home" and she would greet me by name and asked how the classes went. You sure can't get THAT from a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

So I stumbled by Oakwood Philadelphia quite by accident. The location is amazing. Right near everything. The Subway, Restuarants, Im not kidding you there must be 30 restaurants all within a few blocks. Its only about 2.5 blocks away from Rittenhouse Square which is thee place to be in Philadelphia.

What was great was the value, because these are apartment homes, you get like twice the space that you do in any hotel (you even get full kitchens and washing machines and dryers) and its about the same price as a hotel. So any time I can get more for less, or more for about the same I am always happy :-)

The staff are simply fantastic, nothing is every to much trouble. So needless to say I would recommend to anyone.

Enjoy :-)

Room Tip: because you are right in the City, you can expect a little bit of City noise. But thats going to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Oakwood makes you feel as if you are home, the apartments are fully loaded with all the amenities. Ready to cheack in. Maintainence and cleaning is awesome. Overall stay is pleasent.

I would recommend this place if you are planning to stay for long in Philly, moreoverits at the heart of downtown so everthing is reachable. lots of eating joints close by.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakwood Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Philadelphia

Address: 1601 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Oakwood Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.