We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Chesnut Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cake

Cake
8501 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3316
215-247-6887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
NJ
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great find in Chesnut Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We have been here for brunch, lunch & recently dinner. It is a small quaint place so you may have to wait for a table. For dinner which is served Thursday & Friday you can make a reservation. It is a byob. The service & food have always been excellent when we have eaten here. The desserts are also very good!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've been to Cake several times with friends, family and even little kids. The food is wonderful. I've never been disappointed. It is not a quiet atmosphere and the place is small so sometimes you have to wait for a table but you can browse and shop in Robertson's Flowers (which is connected to Cake) or oogle the great variety of baked goods in the bakery case to see what you'll have for dessert.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Visit Cake for atmosphere first, food second”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best thing about Cake is the ambiance. It's set in the old greenhouse section of Robertson's Florists. High ceilings, lots of light. A very pleasant place to dine, whether for lunch or dinner (BYO.) The food is not to complain about, although not especially interesting or well-prepared. If you're into desserts, this might be a great choice (we never order dessert, but they look beautiful.)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a Must Visit. Quaint surrounding, great service and the breakfast was delish. I tried not to clean my plate, but it was impossible.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bruch is the Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I love, love, love the brunch here! Great options and good quality! The atmosphere is also very unique.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.