We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to like this restaurant....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tashan

Tashan
777 Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
(267) 687-2170 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tashan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Indian, Asian, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Catharine St.
Transit: 2 Blocks south of Lombard-South station on the Broad St line. Easily accessible by bus routes 4, 27, 32, and 40.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I want to like this restaurant....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

But unfortunately I didn't. I was curious as to how the chef would spin creative Indian dishes and I had heard great things but I was overall, disappointed. The service is fantastic. Very attentive and accommodating waitstaff. The restaurant itself has a lovely decor with a very nice atmosphere. There is a nice outdoor seating area with views of South Broad. My biggest complaint was the food itself. Everything we ate was bland, like it was cooked for hospital patients. My wife and I split a few apps and entrees and just weren't impressed. We weren't expecting an authentic Indian dish but we did expect the food to taste good. We were left unsatisfied and won't returning. It's certainly worth trying, but it wasn't our cup of tea.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    40
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beautiful Blue Bell, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off-night, but first impressions are lasting impressions.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beautiful restaurant.

Hostess, walking 10 feet in front of us, showed us to a table in front of a very active wait station. A lot of clanging of dishes and glasses. At one point, a waitperson dropped two glasses, with glass flying under our table, hitting two of our party. No apology. No attempt to clear the floor under our table.

Took a long time for drink order to arrive, with first course arriving very shortly after. Food plated beautifully, portions were microscopic.

Food runner then brought a plate of food, placed it on our table, and started to walk away. We told him that we did not order that plate. Food runner picked up the dish of food, and carried it to another table, where he placed it in front of another guest.

Food orders at our table continually placed in front of the wrong guests. Out of four dinners, two were cold.

Desert arrived. A puny Creme Brulee, served in a 2-inch-by-2-inch square dish, plus a melted miniature single scoop of ice cream in the same size 2-inch-by- 2-inch square dish, both placed carefully on a 12-inch by 12-inch square dinner plate.

Beautiful Restaurant. Small portions, poorly served by incompetent, non-caring employees and staff.

Oh, the rest rooms are unique, and beautiful, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern Indian Food With a Sophisticated Twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Tashan delivered in force. The casual but sophisticated ambiance provided an appropriate prelude for the delightful flavors, spices, colors, and designs that we experienced. Indeed, everything at this restaurant was carefully designed, down to the last detail. The waiters' clothing, the chairs, the tables, the food, and even the open kitchen were meticulous creations that created a fluid experience from start to finish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Indian Influenced, Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent service and the free valet parking was great since it was raining when we visited. Our server knew we had to leave at a certain time and made sure we were out the door in plenty of time.

Food was creatively prepared and delicious but don't expect the "usual" Indian dishes. I'd say it's more *influenced* by typical Indian dishes and seasonings. Also, surprisingly, there are some but not a large number of vegetarian selections.

Ask your server about sizes since they vary even among the same menu section. Dishes can easily be shared. Spiciness is variable, generally on the mild-to-medium side; sometimes an ingredient on the side like Kashmir paprika allows you to adjust it yourself.

Some of what we sampled: Samosa Chaat- a deconstructed samosa although it's not described that way. Bombay Bhel- light (think Rice Krispies) and a variety of tastes in each mouthful. Both of these were good sizes for sharing. Gol Gappa- came prefilled so you won't have the traditional fun of filling these yourself, but still good. Goat Cheese Taftaan- a bit disappointing since it's mostly just a large hunk of cheese; there are better options. Diver Scallop "Kangura"- 6 excellently prepared large scallops, not spicy. Tandoori Lamb Chaamp- 3 pairs of lamb chops, didn't really taste like tandoori or Indian at all, but still tasty; good choice if you like lamb, just don't expect Indian flavors.

The two desserts were a little disappointing but maybe we were starting to watch the clock and rush a little too much to enjoy. The Tashan Crème Brulee with the ball of traditional gulab jamun (mild honeyed cheese ball) buried in the middle was tasty but is a bit overpriced. The Masala Donut was actually donutS, nicely sugar-and-spiced, but I was disappointed by the chocoloate mousse and thought it was going to be inside the donut rather than a side on the plate... my mistake; the cardamon syrup for dipping was on the thin side but a nice complement.

There's a prix fixe menu with many of the same selections as the regular dinner menu that can be good value. However, note that it's intended for the full table, i.e. everyone gets it. This isn't clear from the menu.

My "go to" restaurant for traditional Indian dishes in an elegant setting is still Palace of Asia in the suburbs, but if you're looking for food that's on the creative and less authentic side try Tashan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Worth a Michelin star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have previously dined at two NYC Indian restaurants distinguished by a Michelin star each, Tamarind and Janoon, but Tashan beats them both, rather easily.
Everything is perfect in this restaurant, namely the impeccable service, the cool and creative yet very cozy interior design, friendly ambiance, and last but not least important a complimentary valet parking.
But, of course, the meticulous food quality and the innovative approach to the menu are the decisive factors. Tashan's is by far the best Indian food we have ever tried (and we have tried A LOT!). Somehow the creators of the restaurant and the chefs mastered a unique combination of modern, at times even 'molecular', approach yet keeping to the traditions of the world-famous Indian cuisine.
It is very hard to specifically point out or recommend any particular dishes, for almost all of them, with no exclusion were real masterpieces of cooking, in both conquering your taste buds and appealing to eye.
We already made another reservation for Tashan. Suffice it is to say that our 55 minutes drive from NJ is well worth the time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tashan also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tashan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tashan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.