We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tashan is a game-changing fusion Indian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tashan

Tashan
777 Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
(267) 687-2170 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tashan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 3,779 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, French, Indian, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Catharine St.
Transit: 2 Blocks south of Lombard-South station on the Broad St line. Easily accessible by bus routes 4, 27, 32, and 40.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tashan is a game-changing fusion Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tashan is a game-changing fusion Indian restaurant. Here is why I enjoyed it:

1) Phenomenal Food: The flavor and freshness of the food here is REMARKABLE! In fact, I have never seen a menu like theirs. Everything from the level of spices, texture, smell, was just perfect! On our visit, he had;
+ Kobe Chopin Kebob Roll
+ Mangalorean Sausage Roll
+ Shikari Vermont Quail
+ Muscovy Duck
+ Chilka Lake Red Snapper

OF SPECIAL ATTENTION:
Crème Brulee with Gulab Jamun: this desert deserves to be patented! Wow! It's simply unbelievable

2) Stunning Ambience: Feels like you're at a top lounge/restaurant in Paris or Vegas and not Philly. It's outta control! The attention to detail at this restaurant is amazing. The combination of ultra-chic furniture + super modern bathrooms + elevated bar + uplifting lounge music is all very well done. Great taste and I am sure it cost a fortune!

3) World-class Service: Can't say enough here. Super attentive to us. Took time to explain the preparation of each dish and the food arrived fast. You'd think you're on some Top-Chef TV show...crazy over the top! BTW, great place to impress a date and/or business meeting.

Why Game Changing ???
Munish Narula is the owner. He's a Wharton alum and former Investment Banker from CSFB. He did extensive research and travelled the top cities - across the world - as he formed the concept for Tashan. He's proven himself in Philly, which is an extremely hard market to do so! Now, he has plans to take this national in select cities. Tashan is a completely new way to think about Indian cuisine! I wish Munish and his staff all the best of success!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    37
    9
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Ambience and Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful restaurant in both decor and the friendly service of the staff. I have many favorites but some that truly stand out for me is the mouth watering and melt in your mouth taste of the goat cheese naan, pani puri, sausage which is on the spicier side, and yummy tandoori shrimp. There are many other great dishes as well to please many taste buds. You really can't go wrong here.

Last weekend we also went for brunch and they have a one-of-a-kind Bloody Mary bar which has everything you could want to make your own special cocktail. They make their own tomato juices (regular and one with special Indian spices). That was out of this world!! It was especially great as we were able to enjoy this drink with both our friends who drink as well as those who don't drink alcohol.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very pleased with the whole experience. The food, service and ambience were just excellent! They have great vegetarian choices. The staff works well with you to make it comfortable for you to order food by guiding you appropriately. Simply the best!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Delicious Elevated Indian Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first visit to Tashan and we were very impressed by the ambience of the restaurant and the quality of the food. Although it is pricey for Indian food, everything we had was delicious. The wait staff sell the small plates as bite sized, but they were more generous than we expected. Every member of staff was friendly and accommodating, as well as being knowledgeable about the food and wines. We would not hesitate to recommend Tashan to anyone who is looking for an elevated Indian dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Some things good like samosa chat and goat cheese Tashan were great. Bhel was rancid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A French portion size inspired Indian restaurant. We ordered bhel which was stale and rancid. We returned it and got samosa chat which was good. Goat cheese tashan was excellent. We got our bread with appetizers and it was cold by main course time but when we pointed it to our server he got us a warm basket with mains. Chicken patanga was
Very dry. Afghani kabab was succulent but tasteless. Veg sariyan and chutneys were. Pizza tandori was soso. Lollipops were dense and as other reviewers said sat in our tummy forever. After this experience we thought we could save the day with dessert except they were out of most of the dessert options. Overall not worth making a trip to

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tashan also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tashan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tashan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.