We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

clean, quiet, great location (walking distance to business district, lots of restaurants w/in 3 blocks, tons of near-by shopping), attentive staff, comfortable bed... what's not to like? Will defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    99
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
198
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a 4 night stay and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. From its location off Rittenhouse Square, with its eclectic selection of bars and restaurants, to its period charm and character, this hotel is well worth considering for anyone looking for an alternative to the corporate, chain hotel experience. The service was absolutely first rate, rooms clean (with a neat line in period chic) and the complementary breakfast more than adequate. The opportunity to meet other guests provided by the free wine reception each evening in many ways perfectly exemplifies the warm, friendly character of the hotel. Once visited, you will certainly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had originally booked a hotel in City Center, but due to some complications and a slight change of plans, I decided to look elsewhere. I found Rittenhouse 1715 and booked a junior suite. Loved my stay there. The attention to detail in the room as well as at the boutique hotel was impressive. I enjoyed the location - close to the Rittenhouse Square park and nearby restaurants. It was also walking distance to good shopping. But back to the hotel - the staff was very helpful and I have never slept as well in a hotel as I did in this place. Continental breakfast was tasty - coffee is some of the best in the city (La Columbe). Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Suites add that extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Nancy N,

It is a shame that had difficulty with another hotel, but we are very glad that it brought you to us! We are thrilled to hear that you slept incredibly well at our hotel, and that you found our staff to be very helpful. We agree that La Colombe is some of the best coffee in the city and are pleased that you enjoyed our continental breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed three days here and enjoyed every minute. The staff was excellent. They answered every question we had, looked up train schedules, gave advice, and always greeted us coming and going, The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the visitors center, liberty bell, hop on hop off bus, the duck ride to name a few. It is in a quiet neighborhood with restaurants , bars and a market within walking distance. The continental breakfast wasn't grand but enough for us and if you wanted more you could order from a menu at a price. The bed was very comfortable and the big rain shower was awesome! Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear nanna5indiana,

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your three-day stay! We are glad that our staff was able to answer all of your questions and make you feel welcomed as you came and went from the hotel. Thank you for your comments about breakfast; while the complimentary breakfast may not be grand, we want to ensure our guests have the best quality selection to get their day started, so your feedback is appreciated. We are also pleased that you found your room to be very comfortable; we agree that the rainfall showers are fantastic. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and my room was so comfortable. The fire alarm was accidentally tripped one morning, but it was at a time when everyone was likely awake - not a big deal.
The breakfast room was well stocked with tasty small pastries, fresh yogurt parfaits, beverages and a chef to prepare breakfast entrees to order.
I will definitely stay again next time I visit Philadelphia.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Carolyn G,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We apologize if the fire alarm disturbed you in any way! We appreciate your compliments about our breakfast, the staff, and your room. We look forward to your return the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I just spent two evenings at the Rittenhouse 1715. It was a delightful experience. Daniel meet us at our taxi with a warm greeting. Our room was charming, clean and fresh. We were invited to join other guests for a glass of wine and snacks, which we enjoyed very much. The breakfast was nice. Our entire experience was one we will always remember fondly.
Mike and Lynna Ampe

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Ampe,

It is a great honor to hear that your experience with us was truly memorable. It was a pleasure to meet both of you as well! Daniel loves to welcome guests to the hotel, so we are happy that you appreciated his greeting. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the wine reception, breakfast, and your room. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a last-minute mini-vaca with my hubby. Found Rittenhouse here on TA. It had great reviews and so we booked it. There is a reason it has great reviews. There are no fancy add-ons like other hotels, but the ambiance of the hotel and the friendly staff combined with the fun we had touring Philly made it just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Lynne J,

It is excellent to hear that our ambiance and staff made your stay in Philadelphia perfect. Thank you very much for your kind words; many guests inform us that they’ve found us on TripAdvisor and found the reviews to be spot-on, so your contribution is also greatly appreciated.

We hope that you will be able to stay with us again if you decide to make another mini-(or longer!) vacation to Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.