We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very quiet, attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get 15% off and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, very quiet, attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a great place to stay for several days in Philly. It's so close to the square and all the nearby shopping, restaurants and bars. For being in the middle of everything it was very quiet. I never heard any traffic noise or other hotel guests. The staff were attentive, but not overly so. I had help while having trouble with the wi-fi, and Alyssa responded promptly when I requested ice and a plastic bag to nurse a bad knee. I was never in the hotel for the complimentary wine, so can't attest to that. The room was very nice...not over-the-top, but comfortable and roomy. I'd easily stay here again.

Room Tip: A room closer to the back is probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    95
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
181
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were somewhat disappointed to find this hotel was not on the square,
but on a side street which is still called Rittenhouse
Sq.Street. After we got over the disappointment of not find our selves on the square, we found the hotel quite charming, and staffed by a most helpful, friendly, and caring staff. They really are the best! Each room has Molton Brown products in the bath room. The towels are fluffy white, there are good shades to keep out the sunlight if one wants to sleep in, and white wine is served in the lovely sitting room in the early evening. The breakfast room, thought it is in the basement,is delightfully decorated, and the continental breakfast offerings(all complimentary) were wonderful.....even elegant. It would be nice if the air conditioning could be controlled from the room, one can call the front desk to have it turned off completely, but not part way which seems a rather drastic. The rooms we and our friends had were on the top floor, thus quiet, but somewhat somber....though tasteful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor....so it was quiet, though there wasn`t much of a view. Our friend stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An extensive container garden display spanning the 3 townhouse facades that comprise the 1715 Rittenhouse Inn is the first hint of its charm. Inside, the lobby feels a bit like a large English country estate. Inside one is met with an old world patina and a prompt and genuine welcome from an innkeeper who is so professional you might think her to be the owner. Our room was large and pleasant with the usual amenities including a comfortable bed, plasma TV, marble shower and bathrobes. A peek inside other rooms as they were being cleaned showed that all are different. A continental breakfast is included in the base room price but be aware that it follows the strict definition, meaning no protein. Eggs and other items can be ordered from the menu. Excellent fruit smoothies and green juices are also available from the menu. Rittenhouse Square is close to excellent shopping and French-style sidewalk cafes. A tiny single drawback is a very thin wall in the bathroom of room 220 which allows TV from the adjoining room to be heard.

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet. Some ambient noise from next room in room 220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We can highly recommend this delightful hotel, in a particularly attractive part of central Philadelphia. It is small, peaceful, very clean, stylish and run with efficiency and care by the most helpful of staff. Highlights for us included the complementary breakfast each morning, and a wine reception each evening in a period drawing-room setting.
For those looking for "old-fashioned charm" in the heart of a busy city centre, this can`t be bettered!

Room Tip: Even the "Standard" room, which we had, was of top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Be sure you know where you are staying as our taxi driver took us to the big hotel on the square!
Rittenhouse 1715 is a great little hotel tucked away around the corner from Parc a great restaurant on the corner of the square. Reception is friendly, rooms are a bit quirky and ours was a bit dark, but it is a great change from big chain hotels and the location is great, literally no minutes walk from the main streets. Breakfast is good and they offer a complimentary wine service early evening. We are going back and staying there again in August.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious but a bit dark and a little old fashioned, but we liked the character and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear ChrisandVeronica,

We do have a fabulous location, it’s true. Very few other places are so close to main streets, yet so quiet as well. Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff and the hotel. We pride ourselves on providing a much different and more personal experience than any of the chain hotels. Our layout, decor, and character are definitely unique; we are a building of three town-homes that were converted to one larger building, with hand-picked furnishings from myriad sources.

We are very glad to hear that you will be returning in August. We have twenty-two other rooms for you to try! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have any questions prior to your return. Until then!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located right at Rittenhouse Square, the hotel is a very nice boutique property. From here you can walk about a mile and a half to the historic Constitution area or a little over a mile in the other direction to the Barnes Foundation.

There are many great restaurants in the area, as well—check out Alma de Cuba, which we thought was delicious.

Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious, and quiet. There is no refrigerator in the room, but the front desk staff will keep wine or other items for you in the hotel kitchen. The hotel has free wi-fi but we found it to be quite spotty.

The hotel will also direct you to covered parking nearby at a better rate than the parking which is directly adjacent to the hotel.

The evening “wine tasting” sadly consists of only Chardonnay wine, which many people don’t like. It would be nice to have more of a selection including Sauvignon Blanc.

The included continental breakfast is very adequate, with nice pastries, yogurt, fruits, coffee. However, you are offered additional (overpriced) selections from a menu including fresh squeezed juice and freshly prepared egg dishes. Frankly, for the price of the hotel, I feel that the additional breakfast items should be included for no additional cost. Even if the room rate were raised a little bit, it would just add to the overall nice feeling of the hotel if one did not have to pay more for the extra breakfast items, especially at the prices charged.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and received one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear ssgtravel,

Our location and proximity to restaurants is certainly a part of our appeal. We appreciate your kind words about your room. As we have someone on site 24 hours a day, it is no trouble for us to store any items in the refrigerator and retrieve them for guests at any time. I am sorry that you experienced spotty WiFi service during your stay. After your departure, our IT personnel upgraded our wireless capabilities and we have stronger WiFi than we ever have before.

We do change the selection at our wine reception periodically, so perhaps the next time you stay with us, we will have white wines other than Chardonnay. (For example, this week we are serving a Sauvignon Blanc.) It is true that we do only serve one type of wine per evening, and it is a good suggestion to provide alternatives for guests who may not enjoy the selection for that particular evening.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the continental breakfast. As for the paid breakfast items, we understand that not every guest is interested in having that sort of option, and would not want them to have to pay for the extra service if they do not wish to. Our breakfast prices are such as they are because we source the ingredients from local and smaller vendors, which are more expensive than regular vendors, but also fresher and better quality.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a week stay in June 2014. Found 1715 Rittenhouse on an amazingly quiet street in a restaurant rich section of walkable Philadelphia.
What we liked:
1. Hotel was quiet.
2. Bed was comfortable and bath was well appointed. Loved the room door's cipher lock...no key needed!
3. Continental breakfast was plentiful: fresh baked bread, local jams, pastries, apples & bananas, yogurt/granola/fruit parfaits, and coffee & tea.
4. Front desk 24/7 was always willing to dispense information and advice about Philly.
5. Coffee and tea available 24/7 in breakfast area.
What we did not like:
1. WiFi was spotty, never had a strong signal. There was a Netgear router in our hallway so a source was near. Hotel front desk provided a different source but that only worked for a couple of days. Perhaps WiFi boosters in the rooms would strengthen the signal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear OH_Traveler3,

I apologize that the WiFi was spotty! Our IT personnel upgraded our WiFi capabilities during the month of June, and now our signal strength is better than ever all throughout the property.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be quiet, comfortable, and well-appointed. All of those things are very important to us, as they are the hallmarks of a quality hotel room. We are also very happy that you liked our continental breakfast and found our staff to be willing and helpful.

We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Splendia, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;