We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My two week stay at the Rittenhouse 1715 was outstanding in every way. I have travelled widely and consider my stay in this hotel to be the best hotel accommodation that I have ever had.
Under the excellent management of Daniel, Rittenhouse 1715 is exemplary in all aspects.
The hotel's location,decor, cleanliness, friendly service and attention to each guest's needs cannot be faulted. Thank you to all of the staff at Rittenhouse 1715 for a delightful home away from home.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor faced the street and at no time was I disturbed by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Margaret,

It was an absolute pleasure to get to know you over the two weeks that you stayed with us. Thank you very much for all of your compliments and for considering us the best hotel accommodation that you have ever had. That praise means a lot to us. Daniel is certainly a fantastic manager; we all enjoy working with him and with each other.

We hope that if you come back to Philadelphia that you will be able to stay with us again!

Kindest Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    102
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
207
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you want to be a treated like a number, go to a chain...if you want to be treated by friendly & very helpful staff who can't do enough for you, in a great hotel, in a wonderful area of Philly, stay at the Rittenhouse 1715. Ask for just about anything & the staff responds in a professional manner. We had a four night stay at the beginning of March in Room 203 a lovely paneled room, with an electric fireplace. If you enjoy sleeping with a window open a bit, you will be pleased to know can do so here. Our schedule did not allow us to partake of the wine reception each evening, but those that did enjoyed themselves. A good continental breakfast is included & for a small charge excellent freshly made hot breakfasts are also available. On a quiet side street, minimal outside noise, yet close to some great restaurants & a couple of blocks to the Walnut/Chestnut St. shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1715, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear David O,

Thank you very much for your appreciation of our staff. One of the tenets of our hotel is Five-Heart Service - being friendly, helpful, professional, and doing everything we can for our guests exemplifies that perfectly.

A little known secret is that most of us on staff really like room 203, but we love our other rooms as well. As all of our rooms are uniquely decorated, there is a nice variety of styles for everyone.

It pleases us greatly to hear that you had the chance to enjoy some of the amenities of the hotel, such as our continental breakfast and freshly-made hot breakfasts. Hopefully when you return, your schedule will allow you to enjoy our wine reception as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a stay at this hotel through an online site in September. Rittenhouse 1715 was, unfortunately, overbooked and the site and the hotel concierge contacted me to let me know we would be staying in another nearby hotel. When I was upset ( I had picked Rittenhouse for a romantic birthday gift) the concierge went above and beyond to make it up to me. A hand-written apology accompanied a bottle of champagne to our new room, and we were given a complimentary cook-to-order breakfast at the Rittenhouse 1715. (Amazing French toast, by the way!). When we returned this February the weekend before Valentines Day, the staff greeted us by name and carried our suitcases to our room, showing us it's features. Our room was decorated with traditional furniture and impressionist art and boasted a wonderful fireplace and very modern shower/bathroom. A complimentary white wine social in one of the main rooms gave us a lovely chance to chat with other guests about the plays and museums we'd seen that day. The concierge gave us excellent walking directions to our dinner reservations and a card to call if we needed a cab back. Bed was sumptuous and breakfast again marvelous. Addition of a juice bar ( extra charge) was nice, too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Thekateykatey,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel and your understanding during a difficult situation. We try our best to make sure that these kinds of mistakes don’t happen, but when they do, we absolutely want to rectify them to the best of our ability. We are so glad that you were able to come back and positively experience the property and its amenities as well. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Rittenhouse 1715 is now our new PLACE in Philly. Rittenhouse 1715 is THE PLACE for any person who wants excellent customer service with a beautiful clean, lovely room. From the beginning of our reservation process through our lovely stay everything was picture perfect. When we called for a reservation a live, human being answered the phone. This was not a woman at a call center, either. The nice lady who answered the phone worked at Rittenhouse 1715 behind their desk. She went above and beyond trying to satisfy our needs. Immediately she made us feel welcome. She kindly answered our questions giving us thorough details about the rooms, their service and convenient parking garages. When we drove up to their entrance another person working behind the desk immediately opened the door for us and helped carry in our luggage. From the minute we arrived their staff was and is EXCEPTIONAL. Each room has its unique personality and characteristic. The furniture is lovely antique and the bathrooms are updated with fine vanities and showers. The ambiance is warm, quiet and friendly. Whether you are staying in a standard room, superior room or suite you feel like a King or Queen because each staff member treats you as a special individual. If you want coffee they bring it to you in your room in lovely mugs and saucers. If you wake up before daylight their overnight staff member kindly will brew your "must have" first cup of coffee. Continental breakfast was very good too. Rittenhouse 1715 bridges the best of your old fashioned bed and breakfast memories with that special touch of modernity needed to enhance your stay in 2014. In our modern age of technology where people have become numbers, it is wonderful to know that Philadelphia has a place that makes you feel welcome and treats you like you matter, that you are a special individual with special needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed 1 night in Philly to see a concert with my husband. The hotel was in a great area, 3 blocks from the subway that went straight to all the stadiums. They recommend a parking garage just 2 blocks away that's only $18/night. Breakfast was very good (croissants, muffins, toast, yogurt parfaits), husband ordered an omelet and it was delicious. Service was very good.
Our room was on the street and it was a bit noisy but the decor was gorgeous, clean, bed was comfy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is lovely and has a lot of character and charm. The warm apple cider is perfect on a winter's day after being out and about. The are very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient in the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I rarely write reviews but my stay at Rittenhous 1715 was so wonderful that I had to leave a review. The staff is beyond helpful and welcoming. when I arrived the woman at the front desk was beyond helpful with all of my questions about the area. the rooms are adorable and cozy. the breakfast in the morning is fantastic, freashly baked goods in an adorable cafe down stairs. from now on I will stay here every time I come to Philly, no question!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.