We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service near Rittenhouse square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great service near Rittenhouse square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This lovely little boutique B&B property is located in a great part of Philly - just steps from trendy Rittenhouse square, full of bars and restaurants. It was a little (10-min) walk to the city hall, historic district and convention center - but I still enjoyed strolling the streets. This hotel really stands out for its impeccable service: from arrival to check-out, the front desk staff are top-notch: both very friendly and knowledgeable about the city. Rooms are located in this old carriage-house and the place definitely exudes character and class. The rooms themselves are nice/average, not luxurious but fine - the bathroom was always perfectly clean and with marble accents. The bed was turned down every night. The TV and channel selection was a little disappointing. The heat/AC was primitive but windows opened onto the street - a nice touch.
The included breakfast was quite good - no real hot options, but nice breads, yoghurt, cereal, and coffee. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you like little, charming but well-located unique properties wit history.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    106
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
58
226
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If service is at the top of your list, then this is the place for you. Rittenhouse 1715 boasts an awesome location, quaint rooms, and incredible breakfast options. Daniel and Vincent suprpassed our service expectations and were very helpful with dinner suggestions and area interests. The location is perfect for walks to the park and lovely lunches and dinners. The room was comfortable, clean, and cozy. This boutique hotel was a nice break from the normal hotel chains. The individual attention was appreciated and valued. The property is beautiful and has a certain charm you need to see and feel to appreciate. I am looking forward to my return.

Room Tip: I had two room and liked them both. I did not experience any of the issues I had read on other posts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Background: My husband and I traveled to Philadelphia for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half-Marathon. I had trouble finding an available hotel through the race organizer’s website, so I looked on TripAdvisor for alternate ideas and found Rittenhouse 1715.

Booking: I made our reservation directly through the hotel’s website. I requested a quiet room when making the reservation and my request was met as our room was very quiet. Additionally, upon checking in, we were upgraded from a standard room to a superior room.

The Hotel: The hotel has a nice location on a quiet street near Rittenhouse Square. Hotel highlights included a breakfast cafe, a drawing room, a small outdoor courtyard and fresh cookies in the hotel lobby. Our room was modern but was decorated in a style that reflected the city of Philadelphia. Room highlights included a super-comfy king bed, a rain shower, a large flat-screen TV, bathrobes and complimentary Wi-Fi. The hotel does not have an on-site gym, but offers passes to a nearby fitness center. Finally, the hotel does not have on-site parking, but recommends a nearby garage that is $15 a night.

Breakfast: A continental breakfast was complimentary for all guests. The breakfast included tea, coffee, cereal, an assortment of breads and pastries, fruit, yogurt, etc. Hot items (such as eggs, pancakes, oatmeal, etc.) were available for an additional cost.

White Wine Reception: The hotel offered a complimentary wine reception in the evening. The wine reception included two different types of white wine as well as snacks like nuts, peanuts, etc.

Overall: We had a great stay at Rittenhouse 1715. The staff was very friendly and also very helpful. (They even had hot tea and coffee available extra early for us on the morning of the half marathon.) I felt very safe staying at this hotel and walking around the surrounding area. The hotel location was convenient to a number of local attractions (and was about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the half marathon start.) I would recommend this hotel to family and friends, and would stay here again on a future trip to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Found a last minute room on Hotel Tonight. Our room was clean and the A/C kept us comfortable in the intense summer heat. Our room was small so if you need a larger room, request one in advance. Breakfast in the lower level was quick and left us eager to explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

At the SE corner of Rittenhouse square is a small street on which is found this boutique hotel, built into a few row houses. The rooms are spacious, appointed with antique furniture with all the modern comforts. A continental breakfast, served on old English China, is offered in a cute breakfast room as part of the room rate. A full cooked breakfast can be purchased as well as power juices and smoothies. Best is the friendly service from all, from the front of the house to the breakfast room, to the maids. We have tried the fancy named hotels in Philadelphia and none compare to the service and comfort of 1715 and... oh that location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This small boutique hotel has so much to offer. I was very impressed with this hotel. The service was 2nd to none! The room was small, but well appointed, and very comfortable. My room was quiet, comfortable, and had a large flat screen HD TV too.

I had a flu coming on and the front desk clerk, Gema, took care of me like I was family!! It was truly a surprise to find such a great hotel from an internet ad. I would definitely stay here again and would have no problem recommending this property to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July and really enjoyed it. The room was accurately depicted on the hotel website - small but nicely done with an ample and modern bathroom with nice finishes. There were bathrobes, nice towels and excellent sheets. Great mattress and good wifi connection. Our room looked out over the street and was quiet. The breakfast was good and despite being in the basement, the room was bright and cheery. Ideally, the hotel would improve the lounge area so there is someplace to hang out and would add a bar - a few snacks as well - but there is a nice restaurant and bar at the end of the block that we went to instead for a nightcap. If you want a smaller, less corporate kind of place to use as a base to explore downtown Philadelphia, Rittenhouse 1715 is a good choice. Plenty of good restaurants are around the Square and within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor over looking the street and a small parking lot - not scenic but ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.