We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of quiet in the bustle of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A piece of quiet in the bustle of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Needed an accessible and easy place to stay for one night in Philadelphia and when I saw that it was only a few dollars more than the big name (but always generic) hotels near by, I jumped at the chance. Just a few steps off of Rittenhouse Square, the hotel is close to everything one needs.

The staff was to a person kind, personable and helpful. The rooms clean and proper (with no noise from the street or other rooms). Wonderful continental breakfast (with real coffee).

Room Tip: Lattimore Parking is only $15 per night. and a block north of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    97
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
186
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rittenhouse 1715 is a great little hotel right in the middle of the Rittenhouse area of Philadelphia. The Rittenhouse area is loaded with great restaurants (Vernick, Dandelion), bars, lounges, shopping, etc. The room we were given was on the 1st floor away from the street. It was clean, large and comfortable. King sized bed with nice linen and extra pillows. Large shower with rain shower head plus wand/normal shower head. Nice toiletries. Free wi-fi. Nice pastries/bagels and good coffee included. Chef normally on hand to cook eggs or omelets if desired.

Close to Suburban Station stop on Airport SEPTA train. Easy 15-20 minute walk to Philadelphia Museum of Art, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell.

Great, friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Note that since this hotel is converted from multiple townhomes, some rooms require walking both up and down stairs to access. Keep in mind if of limited mobility (make sure you contact hotel for room selection).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family stayed here for one week and thought the hotel was very good and reasonable. The rooms were very well maintained and spacious, and there were many restaurants within walking distance. I would recommend it to all of my friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had only one quick overnight, but were determined to make the most of it. Very glad we chose this spot; we prefer small properties whenever possible, and this one is charming and personal. The Rittenhouse Suite was solid and comfortable--and spotlessly clean, which puts one at ease. Thick walls: not a whisper from traffic or other guests, even though we weren't far from the lobby. I had chosen the room because it's on the main floor--my husband can't manage lots of stairs--lo and behold, there is an elevator, so I needn't have restricted our view after all (not sure how many floors there are). I also appreciated the concierge's pre-stay call, especially as I'd forgotten until she did to make our dinner reservations.

Breakfast was good, and we did enjoy the lovely place settings and sweet, helpful staff, though I think I'd rather pay a bit more for the room and not feel nickled and dimed over a waffle. Small caveat: the fireplace isn't wood-burning or gas, rather red light shining on a vinyl screen--something I've never seen or imagined before--upgrade to gas or rip that thing out!

We would definitely stay here again. Love the beautiful exterior and happy people--a sunshiny spot to come "home" to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Second time staying here & love the boutique charm of the Rittenhouse. Amazing location in the heart of Philly, excellent service, cozy and luxe rooms (molton brown amenities, this time we had a "fire place"), good value, and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Stayed in a junior suite and originally were put in the back of the hotel (no light). Switched to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This property really lives up to its reputation & glowing reviews. Everything you expect from an elite Boutique B&B is evident from the time you arrive. Classy, well-decorated, in a superb location with an energetic, helpful and and considerate staff who seem to remember all their client's names, it is really worth a stay if your considering somewhere else close to their price point. When you can get a Groupon it is a true bargain that shouldn't be overlooked. Kudos to everyone who made our experience so rewarding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a quick weekend trip to Philly. The location is about 50 yards to Rittenhouse square and 100 yards to Walnut street where all the good shopping is. Immediately upon arrival we hadn't even parked yet and someone was out to take our bags. Our room was very simple but well appointed with an excellent shower and very comfortable bed. This is a small hotel (basically three joined townhomes) and it was quite charming. Continental breakfast was provided on real china in a little room downstairs. This is a great getaway hotel for someone looking for something different than the large chains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.