We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rittenhouse 1715 is a great little hotel right in the middle of the Rittenhouse area of Philadelphia. The Rittenhouse area is loaded with great restaurants (Vernick, Dandelion), bars, lounges, shopping, etc. The room we were given was on the 1st floor away from the street. It was clean, large and comfortable. King sized bed with nice linen and extra pillows. Large shower with rain shower head plus wand/normal shower head. Nice toiletries. Free wi-fi. Nice pastries/bagels and good coffee included. Chef normally on hand to cook eggs or omelets if desired.

Close to Suburban Station stop on Airport SEPTA train. Easy 15-20 minute walk to Philadelphia Museum of Art, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell.

Great, friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Note that since this hotel is converted from multiple townhomes, some rooms require walking both up and down stairs to access. Keep in mind if of limited mobility (make sure you contact hotel for room selection).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family stayed here for one week and thought the hotel was very good and reasonable. The rooms were very well maintained and spacious, and there were many restaurants within walking distance. I would recommend it to all of my friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank seattle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had only one quick overnight, but were determined to make the most of it. Very glad we chose this spot; we prefer small properties whenever possible, and this one is charming and personal. The Rittenhouse Suite was solid and comfortable--and spotlessly clean, which puts one at ease. Thick walls: not a whisper from traffic or other guests, even though we weren't far from the lobby. I had chosen the room because it's on the main floor--my husband can't manage lots of stairs--lo and behold, there is an elevator, so I needn't have restricted our view after all (not sure how many floors there are). I also appreciated the concierge's pre-stay call, especially as I'd forgotten until she did to make our dinner reservations.

Breakfast was good, and we did enjoy the lovely place settings and sweet, helpful staff, though I think I'd rather pay a bit more for the room and not feel nickled and dimed over a waffle. Small caveat: the fireplace isn't wood-burning or gas, rather red light shining on a vinyl screen--something I've never seen or imagined before--upgrade to gas or rip that thing out!

We would definitely stay here again. Love the beautiful exterior and happy people--a sunshiny spot to come "home" to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn-ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Second time staying here & love the boutique charm of the Rittenhouse. Amazing location in the heart of Philly, excellent service, cozy and luxe rooms (molton brown amenities, this time we had a "fire place"), good value, and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Stayed in a junior suite and originally were put in the back of the hotel (no light). Switched to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantakavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This property really lives up to its reputation & glowing reviews. Everything you expect from an elite Boutique B&B is evident from the time you arrive. Classy, well-decorated, in a superb location with an energetic, helpful and and considerate staff who seem to remember all their client's names, it is really worth a stay if your considering somewhere else close to their price point. When you can get a Groupon it is a true bargain that shouldn't be overlooked. Kudos to everyone who made our experience so rewarding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwh6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a quick weekend trip to Philly. The location is about 50 yards to Rittenhouse square and 100 yards to Walnut street where all the good shopping is. Immediately upon arrival we hadn't even parked yet and someone was out to take our bags. Our room was very simple but well appointed with an excellent shower and very comfortable bed. This is a small hotel (basically three joined townhomes) and it was quite charming. Continental breakfast was provided on real china in a little room downstairs. This is a great getaway hotel for someone looking for something different than the large chains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jase700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here a number of months ago and regret not writing this sooner. The 1715 was a wonderful hotel.. It is a beautiful converted group of townhouses. From the minute you enter they treat you like family. Our room was upgraded to a very nice suite with living room and bedroom with king bed. It was lovely. They offer afternoon wine in the library/ living room and breakfast in a delightful cozy dining room. The location just off Rittenhouse Square could not have been better. We were near shops and restaurants. Parking was about two blocks away which was very easy to get to and very reasonably priced. Our overall stay here was wonderful. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The front desk was very helpful in explaining all the rooms. Discuss your needs with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
City Center West
Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel, Rittenhouse Square Philadelphia
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#14 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing