We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This property really lives up to its reputation & glowing reviews. Everything you expect from an elite Boutique B&B is evident from the time you arrive. Classy, well-decorated, in a superb location with an energetic, helpful and and considerate staff who seem to remember all their client's names, it is really worth a stay if your considering somewhere else close to their price point. When you can get a Groupon it is a true bargain that shouldn't be overlooked. Kudos to everyone who made our experience so rewarding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    102
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
207
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a quick weekend trip to Philly. The location is about 50 yards to Rittenhouse square and 100 yards to Walnut street where all the good shopping is. Immediately upon arrival we hadn't even parked yet and someone was out to take our bags. Our room was very simple but well appointed with an excellent shower and very comfortable bed. This is a small hotel (basically three joined townhomes) and it was quite charming. Continental breakfast was provided on real china in a little room downstairs. This is a great getaway hotel for someone looking for something different than the large chains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here a number of months ago and regret not writing this sooner. The 1715 was a wonderful hotel.. It is a beautiful converted group of townhouses. From the minute you enter they treat you like family. Our room was upgraded to a very nice suite with living room and bedroom with king bed. It was lovely. They offer afternoon wine in the library/ living room and breakfast in a delightful cozy dining room. The location just off Rittenhouse Square could not have been better. We were near shops and restaurants. Parking was about two blocks away which was very easy to get to and very reasonably priced. Our overall stay here was wonderful. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The front desk was very helpful in explaining all the rooms. Discuss your needs with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exceptional beyond words! The staff is excellent. I got in at 7pm and it was dark so the front office lady parked my car 2 blocks down for me. I was in the Rittenhouse suite and it was gorgeous and so clean! Clean is a major thing with me. This place sparkles! The room had 2 TVs and it had tons of channels which is so rare. The bathroom was a good size with great towels and toiletries. The shower had a rain shower head plus a hand held and was big enough for 2. I could go on and on. But I know one thing, I will always stay here when I come back to this city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

In Rittenhouse Square, this small (23 room) hotel has more support staff than customers - or so it seems. From the pre-contact by the conciege, to the smiling greeting on arrival, to the daily hellos and goodbyes, to the final farewell, the staff was the best I have ever dealt with. The room was a good size and comfortable, the beds were soft and plush if you like it that way (I do not but I was very comfortable anyway), the continental breakfast (and service) were much better than advertised - and everything was in walking distance (assuming weatehr cooperates) of 90% of what we wanted to do on holiday. And price was very minimally more that lesser budget hotels. You'll enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed like they would be quiet. Front rooms on quiet street but opposite small public par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This lovely hotel is one half block from Rittenhouse Square. It has been beautifully restored with great attention to detail. It is a wonderful departure from the chain hotels.
Service is exceptional. The staff goes above and beyond, as they did in our case. Because our room was not ready when we arrived early for check in, we were upgraded to a room with a fireplace. They also provided a rollaway bed at no additional charge. They actually remembered who we were each time we traveled through the lobby area, and this on a one night stay.
I highly recommend this property. It will be my go-to in Philadelphia from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Md
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Lovely intimate and comfortable refuge. Very very friendly and thoroughly professional staff. A touch of luxury, yet cozy. Decent breakfast. Wine get-together late afternoons. Within walking distance of lots of super restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.