We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Napa, California
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

All in all a great stay, nice location off of Rittenhouse Square. Small boutique hotel with nice rooms and great service, friendly and helpful hotel staff from top to bottom. Staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Even met the owner who was a nice guy and very inquisitive and caring about my stay. A well managed property

Only suggestions would be to add a thin blanket between the sheet and comforter for warmth, and a small desk in the rooms where you can work from (the snall piece of furniture serving as a desk is not quite adequate).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    97
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
186
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I first arrived I was a bit skeptical about the smallness of the hotel. It ended up to be a wonderful place to stay. The staff was extremely helpful, kind, polite and did everything that could to make our stay comfortable and delightful. There is a wine hour, my Parents are very senior citizens, so the staff brought us nuts and bottle of wine in the lobby. They offered to park the car for us which was about 3 blocks away. The location is quiet and convenient with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for something special and intimate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I only stayed one night, but definitely will stay here on my next tript to Philadelphia. It is in an excellent location on a residential side street, but steps from the beautiful Rittenhouse Square Park and all of the great shops and restaurants. The front desk staff were all very friendly and attentative to every need. They have a beatiful room downstairs where they serve a complimentary continental breakfast and cooked to order breakfast items. The kitchen staff were very warm and helpful and everything was delicious. My room was very clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and I had everything I needed. For parking I was sent a couple of blocks away to a garage that only charged $15. per night and it was an easy walk back to the hotel. I can't say enough about this great hotel and their wonderful staff who make you feel at home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Among the things you want in a hotel are quiet, a comfortable bed, and a caring staff. Oh, and a good location, and a good breakfast. Then there are the other things—a newspaper at the room door and the offer of cup of tea in response to complaint about the weather. The Rittenhouse 1715 Hotel has all this and more. The 1715 is a small hotel with the friendliness of good BnB. The continental breakfast offers excellent pastries and good coffee in a lower level breakfast room. A juice bar and cooked breakfasts are available at extra cost, but we found the pastries and bagels satisfying. Oh, and the lights in the rom are bright enough to read by. Marianne and Vincent, two the front desk and concierge staff, were helpful as well as and fun to talk to. We look forward to another visit to Philadelphia and to 1715 Rittenhouse Square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff pay attention to their guests' needs. The continental breakfast is minimal in that it is only beverage and pastries, but the pastries are large and delicious. One can order hot food at a very reasonable price. It's an excellent way to begin the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This quirky boutique hotel is located in a quiet side street off Rittenhouse Square, only minutes on foot from great shopping, eating and sight-seeing opportunities in this very-walkable city, so much so that we parked our car in the recommended parking garage nearby and did not use it again until we were ready to leave Philadelphia 6 days later.

From the moment we arrived at the Rittenhouse 1715 we were treated to great service from a friendly, helpful and interested team of staff; parking recommendations and directions, coffee or tea delivered to your room, delicious breakfast choices in the quaint dining room downstairs, restaurant recommendations, etc. It was everything we could have wanted and a spacious, stylish room with a comfy bed to complete the package.

One of the great recommendations from the desk was to try the Monk Bar and Restaurant just a block away and the 'pulled pork' sandwich in particular, it was so good on our arrival day that we returned with our fellow conference travellers later in the week.

If and when we return to Philadelphia, we would not stay anywhere else, we loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Rittenhouse 1715 excels in service. The small B&B feel allows the staff to give you very personal attention, so that it's kind of an oasis in the middle of the city. The staff does triple-duty helping with luggage, directions and recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area, and is happy to make tea, coffee and cookies available at any time.

The rooms are very comfortable, with high-quality linens and toiletries. A great night's sleep.

I was traveling on business, and the spotty wi-fi and lack of a desk in the room made it impossible to clear any late-night work from the room. Also, breakfast doesn't start until 7:30 am, which is fine for a leisure visit or weekend, but not ideal for business travelers.

That said, when in the city for leisure, or if looking for a place where I can unplug and unwind after a long business day, I would definitely come back. It's a very nice change from the large and impersonal hotels that surround it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so very much for reviewing our little gem of a hotel. Your compliments to our service are taken to heart here at 1715- we truly value each other and every guest we're fortunate to serve. You mentioned our cafe opening at 730am being an inconvenience to yourself as a business traveller; however, we offer every one of our guests an early option for breakfast- it's noted the evening before. And, I'm very sorry that somehow you weren't communicated our willingness to serve your breakfast earlier that morning. Lastly, it sounds as if you didn't experience our WIFI to be working at the level you'd expect at a property such as ours. So, I'm taking action to make sure our WIFI is as good as it gets. Of course, there are times that our provider is having trouble with the signal which is beyond our control. However, what we can control- we'll going to take action on. And, I ensure that the next time you stay at 1715 you'll have your early breakfast along with a superb WIFI connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Splendia, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.