We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Among the things you want in a hotel are quiet, a comfortable bed, and a caring staff. Oh, and a good location, and a good breakfast. Then there are the other things—a newspaper at the room door and the offer of cup of tea in response to complaint about the weather. The Rittenhouse 1715 Hotel has all this and more. The 1715 is a small hotel with the friendliness of good BnB. The continental breakfast offers excellent pastries and good coffee in a lower level breakfast room. A juice bar and cooked breakfasts are available at extra cost, but we found the pastries and bagels satisfying. Oh, and the lights in the rom are bright enough to read by. Marianne and Vincent, two the front desk and concierge staff, were helpful as well as and fun to talk to. We look forward to another visit to Philadelphia and to 1715 Rittenhouse Square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    102
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
207
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff pay attention to their guests' needs. The continental breakfast is minimal in that it is only beverage and pastries, but the pastries are large and delicious. One can order hot food at a very reasonable price. It's an excellent way to begin the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This quirky boutique hotel is located in a quiet side street off Rittenhouse Square, only minutes on foot from great shopping, eating and sight-seeing opportunities in this very-walkable city, so much so that we parked our car in the recommended parking garage nearby and did not use it again until we were ready to leave Philadelphia 6 days later.

From the moment we arrived at the Rittenhouse 1715 we were treated to great service from a friendly, helpful and interested team of staff; parking recommendations and directions, coffee or tea delivered to your room, delicious breakfast choices in the quaint dining room downstairs, restaurant recommendations, etc. It was everything we could have wanted and a spacious, stylish room with a comfy bed to complete the package.

One of the great recommendations from the desk was to try the Monk Bar and Restaurant just a block away and the 'pulled pork' sandwich in particular, it was so good on our arrival day that we returned with our fellow conference travellers later in the week.

If and when we return to Philadelphia, we would not stay anywhere else, we loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Rittenhouse 1715 excels in service. The small B&B feel allows the staff to give you very personal attention, so that it's kind of an oasis in the middle of the city. The staff does triple-duty helping with luggage, directions and recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area, and is happy to make tea, coffee and cookies available at any time.

The rooms are very comfortable, with high-quality linens and toiletries. A great night's sleep.

I was traveling on business, and the spotty wi-fi and lack of a desk in the room made it impossible to clear any late-night work from the room. Also, breakfast doesn't start until 7:30 am, which is fine for a leisure visit or weekend, but not ideal for business travelers.

That said, when in the city for leisure, or if looking for a place where I can unplug and unwind after a long business day, I would definitely come back. It's a very nice change from the large and impersonal hotels that surround it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so very much for reviewing our little gem of a hotel. Your compliments to our service are taken to heart here at 1715- we truly value each other and every guest we're fortunate to serve. You mentioned our cafe opening at 730am being an inconvenience to yourself as a business traveller; however, we offer every one of our guests an early option for breakfast- it's noted the evening before. And, I'm very sorry that somehow you weren't communicated our willingness to serve your breakfast earlier that morning. Lastly, it sounds as if you didn't experience our WIFI to be working at the level you'd expect at a property such as ours. So, I'm taking action to make sure our WIFI is as good as it gets. Of course, there are times that our provider is having trouble with the signal which is beyond our control. However, what we can control- we'll going to take action on. And, I ensure that the next time you stay at 1715 you'll have your early breakfast along with a superb WIFI connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Rittenhouse 1715 this past summer for 3 nights. We were greeted by very friendly staff members on arrival. They helped us unload luggage and find inexpensive parking. The room was large and very comfortable with every amenity we needed. There is a nice wine reception each afternoon and cookies available all day in the comfortable lobby area. The hotel feels more like a private residence with someone always available to give directions or provide assistance. We really enjoyed our time here and found the location to be very convenient for a variety of center city activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Conveniently located to Rittenhouse Square, this boutique hotel has comforatble rooms, high end linens, is reasonably priced and has a great staff that is friendly and helpful. The cafe for breakfast is a bonus nd a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful historic town homes converted to boutique hotel, on quiet, tree-lined side street just a few short blocks from Rittenhouse square. From the check-in to departure EVERYTHING is top notch and elegant. No detail has been overlooked, and the addition of a chef to prepare breakfast (sadly, no longer complimentary) is a treat. Have stayed here three times, never anything less than perfection, and keeps getting better!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.