We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab boutique hotel with exceptional customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast) (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Forest of Dean
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fab boutique hotel with exceptional customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This quirky boutique hotel is located in a quiet side street off Rittenhouse Square, only minutes on foot from great shopping, eating and sight-seeing opportunities in this very-walkable city, so much so that we parked our car in the recommended parking garage nearby and did not use it again until we were ready to leave Philadelphia 6 days later.

From the moment we arrived at the Rittenhouse 1715 we were treated to great service from a friendly, helpful and interested team of staff; parking recommendations and directions, coffee or tea delivered to your room, delicious breakfast choices in the quaint dining room downstairs, restaurant recommendations, etc. It was everything we could have wanted and a spacious, stylish room with a comfy bed to complete the package.

One of the great recommendations from the desk was to try the Monk Bar and Restaurant just a block away and the 'pulled pork' sandwich in particular, it was so good on our arrival day that we returned with our fellow conference travellers later in the week.

If and when we return to Philadelphia, we would not stay anywhere else, we loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    97
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
193
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Rittenhouse 1715 excels in service. The small B&B feel allows the staff to give you very personal attention, so that it's kind of an oasis in the middle of the city. The staff does triple-duty helping with luggage, directions and recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area, and is happy to make tea, coffee and cookies available at any time.

The rooms are very comfortable, with high-quality linens and toiletries. A great night's sleep.

I was traveling on business, and the spotty wi-fi and lack of a desk in the room made it impossible to clear any late-night work from the room. Also, breakfast doesn't start until 7:30 am, which is fine for a leisure visit or weekend, but not ideal for business travelers.

That said, when in the city for leisure, or if looking for a place where I can unplug and unwind after a long business day, I would definitely come back. It's a very nice change from the large and impersonal hotels that surround it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so very much for reviewing our little gem of a hotel. Your compliments to our service are taken to heart here at 1715- we truly value each other and every guest we're fortunate to serve. You mentioned our cafe opening at 730am being an inconvenience to yourself as a business traveller; however, we offer every one of our guests an early option for breakfast- it's noted the evening before. And, I'm very sorry that somehow you weren't communicated our willingness to serve your breakfast earlier that morning. Lastly, it sounds as if you didn't experience our WIFI to be working at the level you'd expect at a property such as ours. So, I'm taking action to make sure our WIFI is as good as it gets. Of course, there are times that our provider is having trouble with the signal which is beyond our control. However, what we can control- we'll going to take action on. And, I ensure that the next time you stay at 1715 you'll have your early breakfast along with a superb WIFI connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Rittenhouse 1715 this past summer for 3 nights. We were greeted by very friendly staff members on arrival. They helped us unload luggage and find inexpensive parking. The room was large and very comfortable with every amenity we needed. There is a nice wine reception each afternoon and cookies available all day in the comfortable lobby area. The hotel feels more like a private residence with someone always available to give directions or provide assistance. We really enjoyed our time here and found the location to be very convenient for a variety of center city activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Conveniently located to Rittenhouse Square, this boutique hotel has comforatble rooms, high end linens, is reasonably priced and has a great staff that is friendly and helpful. The cafe for breakfast is a bonus nd a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful historic town homes converted to boutique hotel, on quiet, tree-lined side street just a few short blocks from Rittenhouse square. From the check-in to departure EVERYTHING is top notch and elegant. No detail has been overlooked, and the addition of a chef to prepare breakfast (sadly, no longer complimentary) is a treat. Have stayed here three times, never anything less than perfection, and keeps getting better!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Rittenhouse 1715 for 4 nights in October. I travel quite a bit & this was my least favorite "Boutique" type hotel. The Hotel is a small (approximately 27 rooms) 1900's Carriage House with buildings purchased on each side to create more space. The outside appearance has a row house feel & is charming. The inside of the hotel does not have nice flow & feels very chopped-up with lots of narrow stairs & rooms. When you enter the hotel the open room has the reception desk, a computer for use, sitting area, bathroom & two rooms on this floor. We asked for a quiet room & were given a room on the 4th floor. An elevator next to reception desk only goes to the second floor & then you stair it the rest of the way. The stairs are one person at a time narrow & each floor has 2 rooms opposite the hall from eachother. So glad we were on the top floor because I think it may be noisier hearing people clomp up & down the old stairs. Our room was quite nice & spacious. The bed was comfortable & the room was clean & very quiet. The room did not have a view but the fireplace was a great touch. Ammenities included dean n deluca snacks for a price, molton brown toiletries, free small bottles of water & chocolates on your bed. Free breakfast was served every morning & was located in the basement. Choices were a variety of pastries, bread, limited fruit, coffee & tea. I have to say this was the most disappointing display of breakfast I have ever seen. However, they do have a cafe there as well with made to order breakfast for a price. We chose to eat elsewhere with more choices & a better view. In the evening between 5:30 & 6 pm a wine reception is given in a room near the reception area. The room is nice with places for lounging & a table with chairs. I have to say this again was the most disappointing wine reception I have ever seen. They only serve white wine & a small bowl of nuts or pretzels. One evening I came in later than 6:30 & asked for a glass of wine but the reception person said no. Not a surprise to me I guess I should have been on time. One other day however another guest asked for wine at an off time & was pleasantly obliged. I did not experience the same cozy feel from the staff as other reviewers have said. The staff was nice but not overly helpful.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Just steps from the hotel are many restaurants & shops. Rittenhouse Square is steps away & is a great place to people watch, picnic or just relax & enjoy the beautiful landscape. The hotel is not central to all historical sites but within 2 miles to the farthest one. We walked everywhere & took taxis occasionally. The bus is only $2 a trip & has drop offs at most of the sites. The taxi from the airport to the hotel was approx. $30.
I feel for over $300 a night the service & free perks should have been better. We had a great time in Philly but would try someplace else next time.

Room Tip: No fitness center but they have free passes to a gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are beautiful, large and comfortable. People are nice and helpful, especially head doorman. Room service is fast and efficient . The public areas don't feel so inviting, and the fitness room is really tired, but with beautiful rooms, you want to spend your time there anyway. Pricey, but would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate that you've chosen to review: however, the content of your message leads us to believe that you've stayed across the park at the beautiful Rittenhouse Hotel. For example, we do not have a fitness center on site, yet our guests enjoy complimentary access to La Fitness down the street. Being that our first names our identical leads to this happening every once in awhile. That said, we wish you the safest of travels. And, a lovely experience wherever you call home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Splendia, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.